Four Limerick players get International call up


36-Man AIB Club International Squad Announced

FOUR players from AIB League clubs in Limerick are set to line out for Ireland when this year’s AIB Club International takes place in Donnybrook against England on Friday, 27th February. Shannon’s Tadgh Bennett and Fionn McLoughlin, Young Munster’s Derek Corcoran and UL Bohemians’ Ed Torries, have all been included in a 36-man AIB Club International squad.


The recommendations of the club coaches and selection advisors were then narrowed down by the Ireland Management team of, Coach Brian Walsh of Cork Constitution and his assistant Brian Hyland of UCC. The team will be managed this year by Donal Brennan.

Commenting on the game, Ireland coach Brain Walsh said: “We have introduced a number of new faces to this year’s squad and hopefully that will bring the same sort of enthusiasm and the same results that we had last year and in previous years.  

The lads have done very well in the sessions that we have had, so we hope that we will be in for another entertaining match, particularly after last year’s fantastic spectacle”. 

“The opportunity to represent Irish rugby at any level is an honour and something that many of the AIB League club players may never have had the chance do again, so the Club International is really becoming an objective for many of the players in the AIB League.  We want to enjoy the match, as any fixture against our old rivals England is always a great occasion, but we also want to win the game and show the high level of commitment and talent that the club game has to offer.” 

Commenting on the AIB Club International Maurice Crowley, General Manager, AIB said “At AIB, we are delighted as sponsors of the Club International and to be associated with this game. The AIB Club International is a great opportunity for both the players and the IRFU to showcase the club game at its highest level and last year’s thoroughly entertaining victory of Scotland demonstrated the level of quality that the AIB League has to offer. It’s a fantastic initiative for all club players and I am looking forward to the game, which will hopefully be the start of an excellent weekend of rugby for Ireland.” 

Ireland’s provisional 35-man squad to play England in the AIB Club International in Donnybrook on Friday, 27th February 2009 at 17.00hrs is as follows: 



Colin Atkinson (Belfast Harlequins) 
Ron Boucher (Lansdowne) 
Kevin Croke (UCD) 
Aaron Dundon (Clontarf) 
Alex Dunlop (Terenure) 
Martin Gatley (Highfield) 
Dave Harty (Dolphin) 
Hugh Hogan (St. Mary’s College) 
Neilus Keogh (UCC) 
Richie Leyden (Old Belvedere) 
Alan Maher (Lansdowne) 
Brett McNamee (Dungannon) 
Kevin Moran (Buccaneers) 
Colm Murphy (Lansdowne) 
Merle O’Connell (Cork Constitution) 
Brefni O’Donnell (Clontarf) 
Barry O’Mahony (Dolphin) 
Robert Quinn (Lansdowne) 
Simon Shawe (Ballymena) 
Jamie Stephens (Galwegians) 
Marc Warburton (Old Wesley) 

BACKS (15) 
Tadgh Bennet (Shannon) 
Philip Brophy (St Marys) 
Darin Claasen (Corinthians) 
Derek Corcoran (Young Munster) 
Sam Cronin (UCC) 
Ruairi Cushion (Old Belvedere) 
Eamon Fitzgerald (Old Belvedere) 
Darragh Fitzpatrick (Blackrock) 
Alan Gaughan (Buccaneers) 
Barry Keeshan (Dolphin) 
Richie Lane (Cork Constitution) 
Killian Lett (UCD) 
Fionn McLoughlin (Shannon) 
Niall O’Brien (Clontarf) 
Ed Torrie (UL Bohemians).

Ireland face England in the 2009 AIB Club International at Donnybrook on Friday, 27th February, kick off 5pm. 
Pictured are Limerick Players: 
(L/R): Tadgh Bennet, Derek Corcoran, Fionn McLoughlin, Ed Torrie. Picture by INPHO/Cathal Noonan