Limerick claim Munster Hurling Championship Crown


Limerick v Cork - Munster GAA Hurling Senior Championship FinalLIMERICK are the 2013 Munster Senior Hurling champions. John Allen’s men closed a 17 year gap by defeating Cork 0-24 to 0-15 at the Gaelic Grounds. Level at 10 points at half time, Cork were reduced to 14 men before the half whistle. Pat Horgan was sent to the line for a loose pull on Paudie O’Brien’s helmet.

Limerick went on to out score Cork, 14 points to 5 in the second half. Stars for Limerick on the day were Richie Mc Carthy, Wayne Mc Namara, Declan Hannon and man of the match James Ryan.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

For more on the game, see this week’s edition of the Limerick Post Newspaper.

Limerick: N Quaid; S Walsh, R McCarthy, T Condon; P O’Brien (0-01), W McNamara, G O’Mahony; P Browne (0-01), D O’Grady; D Breen, J Ryan (0-03), S Hickey (0-01); G Mulcahy (0-02), D Hannon (0-08, 5f 1 sl), S Tobin (0-02).

Subs: S Dowling (0-03) for Breen (46), C Allis for Mulcahy (52), C King for O’Brien (58), K Downes (0-02) for Tobin (65), N Moran (0-01) for Hickey (69).

Cork: A Nash; S McDonnell, S O’Neill, C O’Sullivan; T Kenny, L McLoughlin, W Egan; C Joyce, D Kearney (0-01); C Lehane, C McCarthy, P Cronin (0-03); L O’Farrell (0-01), S Harnedy (0-03), P Horgan (0-04, 2f).

Subs: J Coughlan (0-02f) for McCarthy (h.t.), C Naughton (0-01) for Lehane (42), M Cussen for O’Farrell (55), S White for McLoughlin (59).

Referee: J McGrath (Westmeath).