Recognition for University of Limerick alumni

UL alumni
UL alumni award winners David Jeffreys, John Savage, Clodagh Cavanagh and Tim Kenny.

The University of Limerick Alumni has bestowed its highest honour on four of its outstanding graduates at the 12th annual UL Alumni Awards ceremony last night.

The award recipients were Tipperary businesswoman Clodagh Cavanagh, Managing Director of agricultural manufacturer Abbey Machinery for her contribution to business; Kerry native Tim Kenny, who co-founded the St Baldrick’s childhood cancer research foundation for his contribution to society; Limerick-based David Jeffreys and John Savage, co-founders of the Action Point Technology Group for their contribution to entrepreneurship;

UL President Dr Des Fitzgerald described the awards ceremony as a celebration of the achievements and contributions of four amazing people.

“They are imbued with the UL spirit that we all aspire to and want to preserve and propagate. The achievements of these four alumni and their contributions to their communities are models that we believe are based on the foundations they received during their time at UL.“

40 alumni have been honoured since the awards were introduced in 2006, including rugby legend Tony Ward, composer Patrick Cassidy, Riverdance star Jean Butler, artist Alice Maher, former Kerry Footballer Pat Spillane, former Minister for the Diaspora Jimmy Deenihan, former Defence Forces chief of staff the late Lt. Gen. Dermot Earley and former Cork camogie player Anna Geary.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter