Kiely and Lee name teams for Allianz League openers

Paul Browne captains Limerick on Sunday in the absence of Declan Hannon. Photo: Eóin Noonan/Sportsfile

LIMERICK’S hurling and gaelic football teams get their respective competitive seasons underway this weekend against Laois.

John Kiely’s hurling side welcome The O’Moore County to the Gaelic Grounds on Sunday afternoon and he has given three players their league debut.

Seamus Flanagan has been rewarded for some impressive form in the Munster Hurling League by being named at full-forward, while Paddy O’Loughlin also gets a start at left wing-back.

Aaron Gillane also makes his bow in this competition. The Patrickswell forward has already played championship for Limerick, but this will be his first appearance in the league.

Nickie Quaid starts in goal, with Tom Condon, Seamus Hickey and Richie English in front of him in the full-back line.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Diarmaid Byrnes and Dan Morrissey make up the half-back line alongside O’Loughlin. Bruff’s Paul Browne captains the side in Declan Hannon’s absence next to Cian Lynch in midfield.

The half-forward line contains Tom Morrissey, Darragh O’Donovan and Barry O’Connell. Gearoid Hegarty joins Gillane and Flanagan in the same full-forward line that started against Clare in the Munster Hurling League Final win.

The game at the Gaelic Grounds on Sunday has a 2pm throw in.

Team: Nickie Quaid; Tom Condon, Seamus Hickey, Richie English; Diarmaid Byrnes, Dan Morrissey, Paddy O’Loughlin; Paul Browne, Cian Lynch; Tom Morrissey, Darragh O’Donovan, Barry O’Connell; Aaron Gillane, Seamus Flanagan, Gearoid Hegarty; Replacements: Barry Hennessy, Sean Finn, Richie McCarthy, Colin Ryan, Barry Murphy, Daragh Fanning, David Reidy, Mikey Mackey, Pat Ryan, Andrew La Touche Cosgrave, Lorcan Lyons.

Elsewhere, Billy Lee has also named his football lineup for his side’s trip to O’Moore Park, Portlaoise this evening at 7pm.

David Connolly of Adare and Gerald Griffins’ Jim Liston start after impressing at U-21 level in 2017. Goalkeeper Donal O’Sullivan has been named as captain for the season and Sean O’Dea will serve as vice-captain.

Lee must plan without experienced duo Seanie Buckley and Johnny McCarthy, who both announced their retirements earlier this week.

Team: Donal O’Sullivan; Garrett Noonan, Sean O’Dea, David Connolly; Paul White, Cillian Fahy, Jim Liston; Darragh Treacy, Brian Fanning; Daniel Daly, Peter Nash, Danny Neville; Tony McCarthy, Padraig Scanlon Jamie Lee; Replacements: James Brouder, Shane Doherty, Edward Sheehy, Colm McSweeney, David Ward, Tommy Griffin, Seamus O’Carroll, Robbie Bourke, Sean McSweeney, Padraig De Brun, Kieran Daly.