Adare sets silver standard for tidy towns

Adare retained its position as Limerick's tidiest town.

ADARE has once again been selected as Limerick’s Tidiest Town and received a silver medal as one of the top areas in the country.

With 328 marks, the Limerick award winner finished just 11 marks behind Listowel, the overall national winner of this year’s competition.

Ardpatrick, Castleconnell, Galbally, Newcastle West and Limerick City Centre all scored highly and were awarded Bronze medals.

Garrienderk in County Limerick won an Endeavour Award for the area with the biggest percentage improvement over the previous year.

47 areas across Limerick City and County participated in this year’s competition.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Congratulating all those involved, Mayor James Collins said it was heartening to see that local people take such pride in their areas and give of their time to make sure their city, towns and villages are clean.

“It takes a lot of work to enter the Tidy Towns competition and credit must go to the organising committees who do Trojan work all year round. Huge congratulations to Adare, who are once again Limerick’s tidiest town, and to the Bronze medallists Ardpatrick, Castleconnell, Galbally, Newcastle West and Limerick City Centre for all your hard work, and indeed to all the groups.”

“Limerick is all the better because of people like you,” he added.

The full Limerick results were:

Category A

Ardpatrick 326

Templeglantine 307

Anglesborough 299

Knockainey 297

Croagh 295

Kilmeedy 290

Glenbrohane 284

Tournafulla 284

Glenosheen 271

Ballyhahill 246

Elton 237

Glenroe 233

Ballyagran 232

Kilcornan 232

Garrienderk 225

Category B

Galbally 324

Broadford 310

Glin 306

Bruff 300

Doon 300

Mountcollins 300

Ballyneety 295

Kilfinane 295

Knocklong 292

Kildimo 286

Athea 285

Kilteely 284

Garryspillane 281

Kilbehenny 279

Clarina 274

Cappamore 260

Dromcollogher 249

Woodlawn 249

Ballysteen 247

Foynes 243

Rockhill Bruree 239

Gouldavoher 235

Weston 224

Oola 216

Category C

Adare 328

Castleconnell 320

Kilmallock 318

Askeaton 303

Croom 303

Murroe 290

Hospital 289

Abbeyfeale 281

Rathkeale 269

Annacotty 267

Moyross 249

Caherconlish 241

Southill 237

Category D

Caherdavin 268

Category E

Newcastle West 310

Category H

Limerick City Centre 306