Limerick lose Munster League opener


Limerick were beaten 4-14 to 2-17 by Tipperary in the Munster Senior League opener in the Gaelic Grounds tonight.

In front of 3,000+ Tipperary got off to a better start and got the opening goal of the game through a Seamus Callanan Penalty.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Limerick pulled ahead with 20 minutes on the clock before Tipperary hit two goals just on the stroke of half time to hold a 3-6 to 0-11 lead.

Munster Senior Hurling League Round 1, Gaelic Grounds, Limerick 14/12/2018
Limerick vs Tipperary
Tipperary’s Patrick Maher with William O’Meara of Limerick
Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Oisin Keniry

Patrick Bonnar Maher would get Tipperary’s fourth shortly after the restart as Limerick began to make uncharacteristic errors.

David Reidy had Limerick’s first goal with 20 minutes remaining but Tipp continued to keep their hosts at arms length.

Munster Senior Hurling League Round 1, Gaelic Grounds, Limerick 14/12/2018
Limerick vs Tipperary
Tempers flare between both sides
Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Oisin Keniry

Aaron Gillane goaled late on to reduce the deficit to 2-17 to 4-13 before Tipperary rounded off the scoring to seal victory.

Limerick face Kerry next week in Tralee.:

Limerick: Aaron Gillane 1-8 (0-6frees), David Reidy 1-3, Colin Ryan 0-3, Barry O’Connell 0-2, Andrew Ta Louche Cosgrave 0-1.

Tipperary: Seamus Callanan 2-8 (1-0pen, 0-7frees), Mark Kehoe and Patrick Maher 1-0 each, Jason Forde and Ronan Maher 0-2 each, Dan McCormack and Colin English 0-1 each.

Limerick: Nickie Quaid; William O’Meara, Dan Morrissey, Sean Finn; Paddy O’Loughlin, Declan Hannon, Andrew La Touche Cosgrave; Cian Lynch, Colin Ryan; Gearoid Hegarty, Barry O’Connell, David Reidy; Aaron Gillane, Graeme Mulcahy, Pat Ryan. Subs: Seamus Flanagan for Graeme Mulcahy (29mins), Conor Boylan for Barry O’Connell (55mins), Oisin O’Reilly for Pat Ryan (59mins), Diarmaid Byrnes for Declan Hannon (59mins).

Tipperary: Brian Hogan; Sean O’Brien, James Barry, Donagh Maher; Barry Heffernan, Seamus Kennedy, Tom Fox; Michael Breen, Willie Connors; Colin English, Ronan Maher, Dan McCormack; Jason Forde, Seamus Callinan, Mark Kehoe. Subs: Patrick Maher for Mark Kehoe (h-t), Joe O’Dwyer for Sean O’Brien (48mins), Jake Morris for Michael Breen (53mins), Jerome Cahill for Willie Connors (63mins), Mark McCarthy for Jason Forde (65mins).

The post Limerick lose Munster League opener appeared first on Sporting Limerick.