Limerick footballers lose 100% record in National League

Limerick manager Billy Lee. Photo by Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile
Limerick manager Billy Lee. Photo by Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile

Billy Lee’s side picked up their first loss of the 2019 National Football League yesterday with a 2-8 to 1-6 defeat at the hands of Wicklow in Aughrim.

Wicklow, with the aid of a breeze, had the opening three scores courtesy of Stephen Duffy (2) and Chris O’Brien.

Sean McSweeney would get Limerick’s first score from a placed ball.

Wicklow would add the net two to push the gap out to four points after 20 minutes of play.

Colm McSweeney would reply with his first score for Limerick before Wicklow replied with a score of their own.

Jamie Lee would round off the scoring in the opening half to leave the score at 0-6 to 0-3 in favour of the hosts at the break.

Sean McSweeney would open the scoring in the second half before the sides traded points with Colm McSweeney notching his second of the game.

A Seamus O’Carroll goal 15 minutes after the restart put Limerick ahead for the first time in the game 1-5 to 0-7.

Their joy was the last only three minutes as a Chris O’Brien goal put Wicklow ahead again.

The sides traded scores again as Limerick searched for an equalizing goal.

But with Lee’s side pressing for a goal, Wicklow countered to finish to the net and effectively put the game to bed.

Limerick face Leitrim next at home on February 23.


LIMERICK: Séamus O’Carroll 1-0), Seán McSweeney 0-3 (2 frees, 1 mark), Colm McSweeney 0-2), Jamie Lee 0-1.

WICKLOW: Chris O’Brien 1-2, (0-1 free), Theo Smith 1-1, Stephen Duffy 0-3 (1 free), Dean Healy, Mark Jackson (free) 0-1 each;

LIMERICK: Donal O’Sullivan; Seán O’Dea, Garrett Noonan, Paul Maher; Colm McSweeney, Iain Corbett, Cillian Fahy; Darragh Treacy, Tommy Childs; Peter Nash, Jamie Lee, Brian Donovan; Seán McSweeney, Patrick Begley, Séamus O’Carroll. SUBS: Stephen Keeley for Tommy Childs (53 minutes), Mike Fitzgibbon for Peter Nash (53 minutes), Adrian Enright for Brian Donovan (56 minutes), Michael Donovan for Paul Maher (64 minutes), Kieran Daly for Jamie Lee (65 minutes).

WICKLOW: Mark Jackson; Oisín Manning, Ross O’Brien, Jamie Snell; David Devereaux, Shane Mooney, Darragh Fitzgerald; Pádraig O’Toole, Dean Healy; Mark Fitzsimons, Mark Kenny, Theo Smith; Chris O’Brien, Stephen Duffy, Patrick O’Connor. SUBS: Paul McLoughlin for Mark Fitzsimons (half-time), Dan Keane for Patrick O’Connor (half-time), Conor Heal for Theo Smith (65 minutes), Eoin Murtagh for Stephen Duffy (68 minutes), Fintan O’Brien for Chris O’Brien (74 minutes).

The post Limerick footballers lose 100% record in National League appeared first on Sporting Limerick.