John Kiely names Limerick side for Kilkenny clash


Limerick are back in National League action this weekend as they travel to Nowlan Park to face Kilkenny with a 2pm throw in.

Kiely’s charges are currently top of Division 1A after two wins from two, but Brian Cody’s men will no doubt pose the biggest test thus far.

John Kiely shakes hands with Kilkenny manager Brian Cody after last year’s victory in Thurles

There is one change in defence with Paddy O’Loughlin replacing Declan Hannon who moves to the bench.

O’Loughlin has been a key figure for UCC in their Fitzgibbon Cup campaign thus far where they will face Mary I in the final.

The All-Ireland winning midfield is restored with Cian Lynch replacing Colin Ryan who drops out of the matchday 26.

There are three changes in the forward unit with Kyle Hayes, Shane Dowling and Barry Murphy making their first starts of the season.

Shane Dowling makes his first start of the league campaign.

Gearoid Hegarty, Tom Morrissey and Kevin Downes drop to the bench.

Limerick team to face Kilkenny in the National Hurling League

1 Nickie Quiad, 2 Tom Condon, 3 Sean Finn, 4 Richie English, 5 Diarmaid Byrnes, 6 Dan Morrissey, 7 Paddy O’Loughlin, 8 Cian Lynch, 9 Darragh O’Donovan, 10 Kyle Hayes, 11 Shane Dowling, 12 Conor Boylan, 13 Aaron Gillane, 14 Graeme Mulcahy, 15 Barry Murphy.

Subs: 16 Barry Hennessy, 17 Peter Casey, 18 Aaron Costello, 19 Kevin Downes, 20 Robbie Hanley, 21 Declan Hannon, 22 Gearoid Hegarty, 23 Tom Morrissey, 24 Michael O’Brien, 25 William O’Meara, 26 Pat Ryan.

The post John Kiely names Limerick side for Kilkenny clash appeared first on Sporting Limerick.