John Kiely makes wholesale changes for Cork clash


Limerick manager John Kiely has sprung the changes for Sunday’s Gaelic Grounds clash with Cork, making seven alterations from last weekend’s demolition job on Kilkenny

Paddy O’Loughlin (UCC) and Aaron Gillane (Mary I) both miss out as they face each other in the Fitzgibbon Cup final on Saturday in WIT.

Allianz Hurling League Division 1A, Nowlan Park, Kilkenny 17/2/2019
Kilkenny vs Limerick
Limerick manager John Kiely
Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

Mikey O’Brien makes his first ever start and replaces O’Loughlin in the half back line.

He is joined by the returning Declan Hannon who is reinstated at centre back in the absence of Dan Morrissey.

Shane Dowling is the only consistent in the forward line with five newcomers to the team.

Pat Ryan gets his first start of the campaign at corner forward and is joined by Gearoid Hegarty, Tom Morrissey, Peter Casey and Seamus Flanagan.

The same goalkeeper and full back unit of Quaid, Condon, Finn and English makes its fourth consecutive start.

The game as a 2,30pm throw in at the Gaelic Grounds on Sunday afternoon.

The Limerick ladies play Kilkenny in a game that throws in at 12.15pm

Limerick team to play Cork

1. Nicky Quaid Effin

2. Tom Condon Knockaderry

3. Sean Finn Bruff

4. Richie English Doon

5. Diarmaid Byrnes Patrickswell

6. Declan Hannon Adare

7. Mikey O’Brien Doon

8. Cian Lynch Patrickswell

9. Darragh O’Donovan Doon

10. Gearoid Hegarty St. Patrick’s

11. Shane Dowling Na Piarsaigh

12. Tom Morrissey Ahane

13. Peter Casey Na Piarsaigh

14. Seamus Flanagan Feohanagh/CastlemahonS

15. Pat Ryan Doon


16. Barry Hennessy Kilmallock

17. Conor Boylan Na Piarsaigh

18. Aaron Costello Kilmallock

19. Kyle Hayes Kildimo/Pallaskenry

20. Robbie Hanley Kilmallock

21. Dan Morrissey Ahane

22. Graeme Mulcahy Kilmallock

23. Barry Murphy Doon

24. Barry Nash South Liberties

25. William O’Meara Askeaton/Ballysteen

26. Colin Ryan Pallasgreen

The post John Kiely makes wholesale changes for Cork clash appeared first on Sporting Limerick.