East Limerick teachers honoured after decades of educating the young


THE MEMBERS of the East Limerick Branch of the Irish National Teachers Organisation (INTO) gathered recently to honour five colleagues who had retired from their classroom duties after decades of educating the young.

The teachers have a total of almost 200 years experience in the classroom between them and are familiar to generations of East Limerick people.


INTO President Joe Killeen was guest of honour at the function. Mr Killeen, principal teacher in Lough Cutra NS Gort, Co. Galway, is a graduate of Mary Immaculate College and was a member of the first class to graduate from the College with a Bachelor of Education Degree in 1977.

Ann Horan, who is a member of the Central Executive Committee of INTO representing Limerick and Kerry, also attended.

The East Limerick INTO Branch organised the night’s events, led by Branch Chairperson Mary Richardson (Carnane NS) and Branch Secretary Majella Sutton (Castleconnell NS)

The teachers who were honoured on the night are Maria Sheehy (Scoil Dean Cussen, Bruff),  Marguerite Hough (Doon GNS), Terry Keyes (St Vincent’s Special School, Lisnagry), Teresa Dillon (St Vincent’s Special School, Lisnagry) and Tony Harnett (Ballinahinch NS)