Limerick Tidy Town committees had plenty of cause to celebrate

Adare retained its position as Limerick's tidiest town.

ALTHOUGH Limerick didn’t win any national awards in this year’s SuperValu Tidy Towns competition, there was still much to celebrate.

Glaslough in Monaghan won the overall award with 346 marks.

Former national award winner Adare was Limerick’s tidiest town, scoring 335 marks,  winning a Category C silver medal worth €700 and a county award worth €1000.

Galbally was the second biggest winner, collecting a highly commended county award worth €800, a Category B bronze medal award and 332 points.

Ardpatrick was another big winner for Limerick winning a Category A Bronze Medal worth €400,  a highly commended county award worth €500 and awarded 331 marks.

Other bronze medal winners included Castleconnell (Category C), Newcastle West (Category E) and Limerick City (Category H)

Ballyagran was winner of the county endeavour award worth €500.

Paying tribute to this year’s winners, Rural and Community Development Minister Michael Ring announced a special allocation of €1.4 million to support the work of individual TidyTowns Committees around the country.

This is the third year in a row that Minister Ring has allocated funding to support the work of the TidyTowns Committees.

“All of the towns and villages involved in the competition across the country should benefit from this investment. Wherever you have active Tidy Towns committees, it gives the town a real sense of pride and engagement, and creates a great atmosphere for both residents and visitors alike.”

“I want to pay tribute to SuperValu, who are now in their 28th year as a sponsor and who continue to work with us to grow the competition. It is getting stronger every year with increased participation, an increased number of awards and a notable increase in the efforts of the communities involved,” Minister  Ring concluded.

Category A
(Population under 200):

Ardpatrick 331

Templeglantine 311

Anglesborough 304

Knockainey 303

Croagh – Cróch 301

Kilmeedy 296

Kilteely  290

Tournafulla 289

Glenbrohane 288

Glenosheen  276

Ballyhahill 251

Ballyagran  248

Kilcornan 242

Garrienderk  240

Category B (201 to 1,000):

Galbally 332

Broadford 315

Glin 312

Bruff 306

Mountcollins 306

Doon 305

Ballyneety 302

Kilfinane 300

Knocklong 296

Kildimo 295

Athea 294

Garryspillane 285

Clarina 281

Cappamore 266

Dromcollogher 256

Woodlawn  255

Ballysteen 253

Foynes 252

Rockhill/Bruree 246

Elton 244

Gouldavoher 243

Meadowbrook Corbally 232

Our Lady of Lourdes Weston 227

Oola  225

Ballingarry 220

Colmanswell 200

Category C (1,001 to 2,500):

Adare 335

Castleconnell 326

Kilmallock 324

Askeaton 309

Croom 308

Murroe 296

Hospital  293

Abbeyfeale 287

Annacotty 277

Rathkeale 274

Moyross 256

Caherconlish 248

Southill 243

Category D (2,501 to 5,000):

Caherdavin 274

Category E (5,001 to 10,000)

Newcastle West 316

Category H (25,001 and over)

Limerick City 312