2020 Fitzgibbon Cup Preview

The 2020 Electric Ireland Fitzgibbon Cup kicks off on January 12th this year with the competition to conclude a month later.

UCC are defending champions after ending the Limerick monopoly on the competition after two wins each for UL (2015 & 2018), and Mary I (2016 & 2017) in the past four years.

Once again there will be vested Limerick interest in the third level tournament with Mary I, LIT & UL all fancied to progress in this years edition.

Electric Ireland Fitzgibbon Cup Final, Mallow, Co. Cork 24/2/2018
UL players celebrate winning
Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ken Sutton


Group A

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter
  • UL
  • DCU
  • Maynooth University
  • Trinity College

Group B

  • Mary Immaculate College
  • TU Dublin
  • Waterford IT
  • Limerick IT

Group C

  • NUI Galway
  • UCC
  • Cork IT

Group D

  • UCD
  • IT Carlow
  • GMIT

University of Limerick

UL will be fancied to progress from their group alongside DCU, who were beaten by winners UCC in the semi-final of the tournament last year.

Both sides should have too much for Maynooth and Trinity.

UL will be hoping for a better campaign this time around after failing to win a game in 2019 after winning the competition the previous year.

Electric Ireland Fitzgibbon Cup, Belfield, UCD, Dublin 31/1/2019
UCD’s Paul Crummey with Evan Cody of UL
Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Oisin Keniry


Gary Kirby

Key Players:

Kyle Hayes & Ronan Lynch (Limerick), Jake Morris & Brian McGrath (Tipperary), Mikey Carey (Kilkenny), Pauric O’Loughlin (Clare)


Away to DCU Dochas Eireann on Sunday January 12

Home to Trinity on Sunday January 19

Home to Maynooth University on Wednesday/Thursday January 22/23.

Mary Immaculate College

Last year’s beaten finalists Mary I will be without key man Aaron Gillane for this year after the Patrickswell man was instrumental in their 2017 triumph and guiding them to the final last time out.

Fitzgibbon Cup Round 3, Parnells GAA Club, Coolock, Dublin 7/2/2017
DIT vs Mary Immaculate College
Mary Immaculate College manager Jamie Wall
Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy

However, the Jamie Wall managed side will have Gillane’s brother Jason and club and county teammate Josh Considine at their disposal for this year.

The teacher training college do have a tough group and thier matchup with fellow Limerick side LIT could prove crucial.


Jamie Wall

Key Players:

Josh Considine & Jason Gillane (Limerick), Tim O’Mahony (Cork), Gary Cooney (Clare).


Away to TU Dublin on Sunday January 12

Home to LIT on Sunday January 19

Home to WIT on Wednesday/Thursday January 22/23

Limerick Institute of Technology

It’s been 12 years since LIT last one the Fitzgibbon Cup but the Moylish based side are a constant in the knockout stages of the competition.

Independent.ie Higher Education GAA Fitzgibbon Cup Quarter-Final, Limerick IT, Limerick 15/2/2017
LIT’s Peter Duggan with Tadhg Burke and Paddy Hannon of UCD
Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy

Drawn in the same group as their neighbours Mary I, LIT will be aware that they will have to start the tournament quick or risk facing into a do-or-die clash with MIC in the second game.


Jimmy Browne

Key Players:

Darren O’Connell & Peter Casey (inj) (Both Limerick), Robert Byrne and Billy Seymour (Both Tipperary)


Home to WIT on Sunday January 12

Away to Mary I on Sunday January 19

Home to TU Dublin on Wednesday/Thursday January 22/23

The post 2020 Fitzgibbon Cup Preview appeared first on Sporting Limerick.