Eight Munster Players included in 2020 Six Nations Squad


Andy Farrell has made the first big decision of his career as Irish Head Coach by confirming his 35 man squad ahead of the 2020 Six Nations Championship.

The squad includes 8 Munster players.

Conor Murray, Jack O’Donoghue, Cj Stander, Andrew Conway, Keith Earls, Chris Farrell, Peter O’Mahony and David Kilcoyne.

Among those selected is Jonathan Sexton who has been appointed as Irish Captain.

2019 Rugby World Cup Pool A, Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium, Fukuoka Prefecture, Fukuoka City 12/10/2019
Ireland vs Samoa
Ireland’s Jonathan Sexton celebrates after the game
Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Dan Sheridan

Prior to today’s squad announcement, Farrell held a 24-hour ‘Stocktake’ at the IRFU’s High-Performance Centre in Dublin across the 22nd and 23rd December, which included 45 players from across the provinces.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

In addition to the squad announcement, this afternoon includes four ‘Development Players’ – Harry Byrne, Ryan Baird, Will Connors and Robert Baloucoune.

Guinness PRO14, RDS Dublin 20/12/2019
Leinster vs Ulster
Leinster’s Harry Byrne is tackled by Ulster’s Bill Johnston
Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Billy Stickland

As the Heineken Champions Cup reaches it’s Pool stage conclusion this weekend, the selected players will go into Ireland camp, which starts next Monday morning.

Ireland Rugby Press Conference, National Sports Campus, Abbotstown, Dublin 23/12/2019
New Ireland Head Coach Andy Farrell
Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo

Ireland will kick off their 2020 Six Nations campaign at Aviva Stadium on February 1st against Scotland. Kick-off is at 4:45pm.

The post Eight Munster Players included in 2020 Six Nations Squad appeared first on Sporting Limerick.