McNamara notches winner number four of the year

Limerick jockey Conor McNamara notched up his fourth winner of 2020 when landing the 3m handicap hurdle on the Gavin Cromwell trained Tokyo Getaway at Punchestown on Wednesday.

A well-supported 7/2 chance, she got to the front after the final flight to beat Nicole’s Milan by two and a half lengths to add to McNamara’s impressive run of form.

The Rathkeale jockey rode a winner at Fairyhouse on New Year’s Day and added two more at the same venue two weeks ago

“I’m delighted with that as she deserved it,” said Cromwell following the victory.  “She had been banging on the door and Conor gave her a peach.”

Billy Lee was also in fine form with a win in Dundalk on Friday night where he teamed up with Curragh trainer Conor O’Dwyer to land the 10f handicap on Jon Ess.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Tokyo Getaway and Billy Lee win the 3m handicap hurdle for Curragh trainer Conor O’Dwyer and the Finnegan family at Punchestown 15.01.2020 Photo: Patrick McCann/Racing Post

Sent off a well-backed 4/1 favourite, the six-year-old scored by a length and a quarter from Michael Halford’s Gougane Barra in the colours of the Brinkleys Syndicate.

Elsewhere, Horse Racing Ireland has announced a new annual racing membership for 18 to 25-year-olds. HRI Racing25 is open to all full-time students and anyone aged 18 to 25.

For an annual subscription of just €25, members will gain free entry to five key racedays from a selection of 21 race days.

In addition, HRI Racing25 members will also have access to exclusive behind the scenes trips to racing yards, stud farms and meet and greet opportunities with many of Ireland’s racing stars.

Members will also be offered reduced admission for additional premium race days. The first trip of the year for HRI Racing25 members is a stable tour to trainer Joseph O’Brien’s yard in Owning, County Kilkenny on Friday, January 24. Places on the trip are limited. Full details are available at

Upcoming Fixtures

Gowran Park – Thursday, January 23 (First Race 12.45pm)

Dundalk – Friday, January 24 (First Race 5.30pm)

Fairyhouse – Saturday, January 25 (First Race 12.25pm)

Naas – Sunday, January 26 (First Race 1.10pm)

The post McNamara notches winner number four of the year appeared first on Sporting Limerick.