Limerick Ladies football squad announced as fixtures confirmed for All-Ireland series


DONAL Ryan has named a 30-woman strong squad for the 2020 Lidl All-Ireland Ladies Football Championship which begins next weekend.

Both of their group games will be played at neutral venues with Northern opponents in both.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Limerick open their campaign with a clash with Derry which will be played on October 25 in Lanneleire in Louth at 2pm.

Four weeks later they will travel to Clane, Col Kildare to play Antrim at 1pm on November 21.

The top two in the group will advance to the All-Ireland semi-finals with Carlow, Fermanagh and Wicklow on the other side of the draw.

Limerick were Junior champions in their last year at this level in 2018 but suffered relegation after a disappointing 2019 campaign in the Intermediate ranks.

From the 30-woman squad announced by Donal Ryan only two players remain from the All-Ireland winning XV of 2018 in Cathy Mee and Roisin Ambrose. Caroline Hickey and Katie Heelan also featured in Croke Park that day.

2020 Limerick Senior Ladies Football Squad

  1. Claire Carmody (Athea)
  2. Rachel Greaney (Athea)
  3. Rebekah Daly (Athea)
  4. Sarah O’Connor (Athea)
  5. Andrea O’Sullivan (Ballylanders)
  6. Cathy Mee (Ballylanders)
  7. Meadbh McCarthy (Drom Broadford)
  8. Aine Cunnningham (Drom Broadford)
  9. Niamh McCarthy (Drom Broadford)
  10. Sarah Sheehan (Drom Broadford)
  11. Chloe Cleary (Galtee Gaels)
  12. Roisin Breedy (Galtee Gaels)
  13. Amy Hanrahan (Gerald Griffins)
  14. Rachel O’Dell (Monaleen)
  15. Aoife Corbett (Monagea)
  16. Aimee O’Brien (Murroe/Boher)
  17. Roisin O’Malley (Murroe/Boher)
  18. Charlotte Walsh (Murroe/Boher)
  19. Alannagh Russell (Murroe/Boher)
  20. Roisin Ambrose (Old Mill)
  21. Sophie Hennessey (Old Mill)
  22. Kathleen Bradshaw (Oola)
  23. Kathleen Fitzgibbon (Oola)
  24. Leah Coughlan (Oola)
  25. Amy Ryan (Oola)
  26. Fiona Bradshaw (Oola)
  27. Caroline Hickey (St Ailbes)
  28. Meadhbh McNamara (St Ailbes)
  29. Katie Heelan (St Ailbes)
  30. Louise Ryan (St Brigids)

The post Limerick Ladies football squad announced as fixtures confirmed for All-Ireland series appeared first on Sporting Limerick.