Fermanagh too strong for Limerick Ladies


FERMANAGH booked their place in the TG4 Junior Ladies Football All Ireland final with a 4-10 to 4-3 victory over Limerick.

Donal Ryan’s side were left with a mountain to climb early on as the Ulster side raced from the blocks to lead 4-3 to 0-1 at the first half water break.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Eimear Smyth was on top form and raised green flags twice early on, with Roisin O’Reilly and Joanna Doonan also finding the net.

CathyMee makes a break for Limerick in their 2020 League win over Carlow

Limerick were luckless early on with Katie Heelan hitting the crossbar, after Andrea O’Sullivan had opened Limerick’s account.

Amy Ryan punched to the net to continue her goalscoring form but Limerick trailed by 4-5 to 1-2 at the change of ends. The damage from the opening quarter clear for those in attendance in Kinnegad, Westmeath.

Despite a brace of goals from Aine Cunningham and a second from Amy Ryan, Fermanagh had built up too much of a lead, and held on to return to the final that they lost 12 months ago. Eimear Smyth ended with 2-6 and carried her county into the final, where they’ll face Wicklow.

Manager Ryan spoke after the game about a building process for his youthful Limerick and the positives they can take from a disjointed 2020.

Scorers – Limerick: A Cunningham 2-2 (0-2f), A Ryan 2-0, A O’Sullivan 0-1

Fermanagh: E Smyth 2-6 (0-2f), J Doonan 1-2, R O’Reilly 1-0, S McCausland, R O’Reilly 0-1 each

LIMERICK: S Hennessey; C Walsh, M McCarthy, R Daly; M MacNamara, N McCarthy,  R O’Malley; C Hickey, R Ambrose; A Cunningham, C Mee, K Heelan, A O’Sullivan, A Ryan, L Coughlan

Subs: C Ní Cheallaigh for R O’Malley (49) R Greaney for C Walsh (55), A O’Brien for A O’Sullivan (60), K Bradshaw for A Ryan (64)

S Murphy, S McQuade  E Murphy, M McGloin, M Flynn, S Jones, S McCarville, R O’Reilly, A Flanagan, S McCausland, R McDonald, A Maguire, J Doonan, E Smyth, A O’Brien

Subs: B Bannon for S McCarville (45), E Maguire for J Doonan (47), S Britton for M McGloin (53), C Bogue for S McCausland (56), A McCabe for R McDonald (61).

Ref – Kevin Corcoran (Mayo)

The post Fermanagh too strong for Limerick Ladies appeared first on Sporting Limerick.