Limerick equal All-Star record with nine awards as Hegarty claims Hurler of the Year gong


LIMERICK cleaned up at this years All-Stars Awards as they claimed nine places on the 2020 Hurling Team of the Year.

The Shannonsiders’ haul of nine equals the record set by Kilkenny in 1983, 2000 and 2008.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

All-Ireland finalists Waterford have three chosen, while Galway, Kilkenny and Clare all have one player among the XV.

Gearoid Hegarty was also named as Hurler of the Year and becomes only the second Limerick player to do so, after Cian Lynch in 2018.

13 December 2020; Tom Morrissey, left, and Gearóid Hegarty of Limerick celebrate following the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Senior Championship Final match between Limerick and Waterford at Croke Park in Dublin. Photo by Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile

In goals, Nickie Quaid earns a first award after a stellar season.

Sean Finn becomes only the fourth Limerick player to ever win three-in-a-row as he is selected at number two once more. Alongside him, Dan Morrissey added his second , this time at full back after winning an award at wing-back in 2018.

Diarmaid Byrnes and Kyle Hayes are both selected for the first time in the half-back line.

Limerick’s All-Ireland final half-forward line is selected in full with Hegarty, Cian Lynch and Tom Morrissey chosen.

In the full forward line Aaron Gillane picks up his second award on the bounce.

2020 Pwc GPA/GAA All-Star Hurling Team

  1. Nickie Quiad
  2. Sean Finn
  3. Dan Morrissey
  4. Daithi Burke
  5. Diarmaid Byrnes
  6. Tadhg de Burca
  7. Kyle Hayes
  8. Jamie Barron
  9. Tony Kelly
  10. Gearoid Hegarty
  11. Cian Lynch
  12. Tom Morrissey
  13. Stephen Bennett
  14. TJ Reid
  15. Aaron Gillane

The post Limerick equal All-Star record with nine awards as Hegarty claims Hurler of the Year gong appeared first on Sporting Limerick.