On This Day: Footballers maintain 100% start to 2020 while Ardscoil claim Harty Cup in 2014


February 22

On this day last year, Limerick maintained their place atop the Division 4 table with a fourth consecutive win. In 2015, TJ Ryan’s Limerick hurlers got their first win of the season with Ardscoil Rís claiming a third Harty Cup on this day seven years ago.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter


Billy Lee’s Limerick made it four from four as they put Wicklow to the sword winning 5-10 to 1-14 in Mick Neville Park.

Michael O’Donovan had Limerick’s first goal on 11 minutes as he made it 1-4 to 0-2 in the hosts favour.

Seven minutes later Danny Neville had his sides second after a quick move involving Padraig de Bruin and Tommie Childs.

Robert Childs would get in on the act 60 seconds later to give Limerick daylight at 3-6 to 0-4.

At the interval, Limerick were 3-8 to 0-7 to the good.

Three minutes into the second half and Iain Corbett would put the game past the Leinster men.

Wicklow rallied as Neville and O’Donovan spent time in the bin but they couldn’t find the required goals as Limerick sealed the win with Seamus O’Carroll grabbing a fifth late on.

24 October 2020; Michael Donovan, right, and Paul Maher of Limerick celebrate following the Allianz Football League Division 4 Round 7 match between Sligo and Limerick at Markievicz Park in Sligo. Photo by Harry Murphy/Sportsfile


TJ Ryan’s Limerick hurlers got their first win of the season as they beat Antrim 0-23 to 1-12 in Ballycastle.

They would leave it late to secure the win in the north.

After drawing in their League opener against Waterford, Limerick were made to work in the first half in Antrim as they took a slender 0-10 to 0-9 lead in to the break with David Reidy grabbing the leading point.

Antrim had a huge boost when Eoghan Campbell got the games only goal shortly after the restart.

But Limerick’s reponse was emphatic as they regained the lead midway through the second half at 0-16 to 1-12.

They would then shoot seven without reply to seal the win and reignite their promotion hopes.


Ardscoil Rís made light work of their Limerick rivals Doon as they clinched a third Harty Cup title in five years with a 2-13 to 0-4 win in the Post Primary Schools decider.

In a tense opening half, neither side got going with Ardscoil holding a slender 0-4 to 0-2 lead at the break in the Gaelic Grounds.

The Limerick city school had the first four points of the second half and when Colin Crehen netted midway through the second period, there was daylight between the teams.

Ian Galvin had Ardscoil’s second with ten minutes remaining as they strolled to a 15 point win in the end.

Cian Lynch captained the side and would later captain Limerick to Munster Minor glory.

No fewer than five players that featured on the day would go on to win senior All-Ireland medals with Limerick four years later in Lynch, Mike Casey, Aaron Gillane, (all Ardscoil Rís) Barry Murphy and Colin Ryan (both STN Doon)

22 February 2014; The Ard Scoil Ris squad celebrate with the cup after victory over Scoil na Trionoide Naofa. Dr. Harty Cup Final, Scoil na Trionoide Naofa, Doon v Ard Scoil Ris, Limerick. Gaelic Grounds, Limerick. Picture credit: Diarmuid Greene / SPORTSFILE

The post On This Day: Footballers maintain 100% start to 2020 while Ardscoil claim Harty Cup in 2014 appeared first on Sporting Limerick.