On This Day: Hurlers book 2019 League final spot, Nap fall in 2018 replay & More


March 24

On this day two years ago, the Limerick hurlers booked their place in a league final for the first time since 2006 with a win over Dublin. On the same day the footballers rounded off their League campaign while in 2018, Na Piarsaigh met Cuala in the All-Ireland club final replay.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter


Limerick advanced to a first league final in 13 years as they saw off Dublin 1-19 to 1-16 in Nowlan Park.

In an evenly matched opening quarter, the sides were level five times with neither team able to get a foothold on proceedings.

Three successive Dublin scores gave the capital the lead approaching injury time before Gearoid Hegarty levelled.

Aaron Gillane had the final say off the half to give Limerick a slender 0-10 to 0-9 advantage at the break.

Four unanswered scores from the 51st to the 61st minute had Limerick 0-17 to 0-12 ahead and Seamus Flanagan’s well executed goal had the gap up to eight.

But Dublin refused to give in the towel against the defending All-Ireland champions and Rory Hayes goal had it back to six.

Dublin pushed for a second goal but were well marshalled by the Limerick rearguard as they held on for a deserved win and a place in the League final.

On the same day, the footballers fell to a fifth consecutive loss to round off their League campaign.

Despite a strong first half showing, they lost out 2-12 to 1-11 against Antrim in Kilmallock.

The hosts were well on top in the first half and six points from the boot of Jamie Lee and a Cillian Fahy goal had them 1-7 to 0-5 clear.

But, the visitors completely flipped the script in the second half outscoring Limerick 2-7 to 0-4 to condemn Billy Lee’s men to another defeat.

It brought to an end a disappoint league campaign where Limerick only picked up two wins but were also on the wrong side of two one-point margins.

The best was yet to come for Billy Lee and his men that summer however.


A late surge saw Cuala retain their crown in a 2-17 to 1-17 win over Na Piarsaigh in their All-Ireland final replay in Portlaoise.

The sides exchanged the opening four scores before Adrian Breen gave Na Piarsaigh the first two point lead of the day with a quickfire brace.

Cuala hit back with four of their own to move two clear. Na Piarsaigh had the next score and the sides would go tit for tat in the remainder of an absorbing half.

At the short whistle, the defending champions had a slight 0-10 to 0-9 lead.

Ten minutes into the second half and the game looked beyond the Limerick kingpins as Cuala struck for a pair of goals.

Firstly, a mishit pass in defence allowed Nicky Kenny in for their first before Mark Schutte doubled that advantage moments later.

But the 2016 champions responded emphatically and grabbed 1-4 on the trot to level proceedings on 55 minutes with David Breen grabbing the crucial goal.

Shane Dowling had Na Piarsaigh in front with a free in the last minute of normal time but four unanswered down the home straight was enough for Cuala to become the first team since 2009 to retain their All-Ireland hurling title.

The post On This Day: Hurlers book 2019 League final spot, Nap fall in 2018 replay & More appeared first on Sporting Limerick.