Three Munster players named on 2020/21 Pro 14 Dream Team


MUNSTER have had three players selected to the Guinness Pro 14 2020/21 Dream Team.

The XV was chosen by a pool of 75-plus media from across the UK, Ireland, Italy and South Africa including reporters, broadcasters, former players and coaches were invited to vote in order to assemble the final XV.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Ulster lead the way with four selections, Munster, Leinster and Connacht see three players each included with Cardiff and Warriors earning one each.

Billy Holland is selected in his final Pro 14 season with the lock announcing his retirement at the season’s end last month. He joins fellow forward Kevin O’Byrne who is named as the hooker on the side.

Damien De Allende is chosen at inside centre after a brilliant debut campaign with the Thomond Park outfit. Former Munster man Alex Wotton makes the cut with the winger topping the scoring charts with 9 for Connacht this term.

Guinness PRO14 Dream Team 2020/21

15 Michael Lowry (Ulster)

14 Alex Wootton (Connacht)

13 Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors)

12 Damien de Allende (Munster)

11 Dave Kearney (Leinster)

10 Jack Carty (Connacht)

9 John Cooney (Ulster)

8 Marcell Coetzee (Ulster)

7 Scott Penny (Leinster)

6 Josh Turnbull (Cardiff Blues)

5 Gavin Thornbury (Connacht)

4 Billy Holland (Munster)

3 Michael Bent (Leinster)

2 Kevin O’Byrne (Munster)

1 Eric O’Sullivan (Ulster)

Total Dream Team appearances by club since 2007/08:

Leinster: 42 Ospreys: 28 Munster: 23 Glasgow Warriors: 22 Scarlets: 22 Ulster: 21 Cardiff Blues: 17 Connacht: 16 Edinburgh: 13 Benetton Rugby: 3 Toyota Cheetahs: 2 Dragons: 1

The post Three Munster players named on 2020/21 Pro 14 Dream Team appeared first on Sporting Limerick.