Cronin goal proves crucial as Limerick defeat Tipperary in Munster Minor football


Limerick 2-9
Tipperary 1-9
By Tom Clancy at LIT Gaelic Grounds

Limerick advanced to the Munster Minor football championship semi-final following a three point victory over neighbours Tipperary. Kevin Denihan’s side face Clare on July 30th, in Ennis. Once Limerick led in the 13th minute, Tipperary were unable to peg them back, though a second half green flag from Ruairi Cronin proved crucial at the final whistle.

Limerick led 1-4 to 1-1 at the first half water-break with Fr. Casey’s star Marc Nolan netting after an earlier goal from Tipperary’s Diarmuid O’Riordan. Limerick responded well to every visiting score throughout and this ensured they kept their nose in front.

At the short whistle, Limerick led by four points, with Jack Somers effort closing the half. Tipperary were extremely wasteful in front of goal.

12 December 2020; Darragh Murray of Limerick in action against Oscar Geoghegan of Waterford during the Electric Ireland Munster GAA Football Minor Championship Quarter-Final match between Limerick and Waterford at LIT Gaelic Grounds in Limerick. Photo by Matt Browne/Sportsfile

The Premier County started the second stanza with a purpose, and after cutting the gap to just two points, Cronin finished low beyond Tom Bourke for the games crucial score.  This had Limerick five clear at the water break and despite just scoring once down the stretch, the Treaty had enough. The 59th minute free from Darragh Murray was pivotal, as it kept Limerick two scores clear and they held on.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Limerick were victors over Waterford in 2020 before falling to a heavy defeat to Clare in the Munster semi-final. Elsewhere on Thursday, Waterford suffered a heavy defeat to Cork, who advance to face Kerry in the other semi-final.

Scorers – Limerick: Darragh Murray 0-4 (3f), Conall Ó’Duinn 0-3 (1f), Marc Nolan, Ruari Cronin 1-0, Jack Somers 0-2.

Limerick: Craig MacInnes (St Kierans); Michael Kilbridge (Fr. Casey’s), Jamie Behan (Ballybrown), Darragh Clifford (Monaleen); Lorcan Murphy (St. Kierans), Aaron Neville (Fr. Casey’s), Stephen Kiely (Monaleen); Jack Somers (Mungret St. Paul’s), Darragh Murray © (Monaleen), Marc Nolan (Fr. Casey’s), Emmet Rigter (Newcastle West), Oisín O’Farrell (St. Senan’s), Conall O’Duinn (Monaleen), Ruairi Cronin (Fr. Casey’s), Ronan Quirke (Fr. Casey’s).

Subs: Culann Quigley (Fr. Casey’s) for Clifford (ht), Owen O’Sullivan (Galbally) for Quirke (40), Calum Boyle (Fr. Casey’s) for Kiely (47), Sean Geraghty (Newcastle West) for Ó’Duinn (53), Dylan O’Connor (Fr. Casey’s) for Nolan (61).

The post Cronin goal proves crucial as Limerick defeat Tipperary in Munster Minor football appeared first on Sporting Limerick.