Six Munster players included in Ireland squad for Women’s Rugby World Cup qualifier


IRISH Head coach Adam Griggs named his 28-player squad for Rugby World Cup 2021 Europe Qualifier in Italy. Munster back-row Ciara Griffin will lead the side as they set out to earn their spot in next year’s global tournament in New Zealand.

Griffin will be accompanied by five of her Munster teammates as they travel to Italy this coming week; namely, Enya Breen, Eimear Considine, Emily Lane, Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe and Munster’s Women’s player of the Year for 2021 Dorothy Wall.

Griggs has also named three uncapped players in his selection for the qualifying tournament in Parma, namely Ireland 7s captain Lucy Mulhall, Leinster’s Mary Healy and Wasp’s second row Sam Monaghan.

17 April 2021; Ireland players Eimear Considine, and Sene Naoupu, centre, after France scored their sixth try during the Women’s Six Nations Rugby Championship match between Ireland and France at Energia Park in Dublin. Photo by Sam Barnes/Sportsfile

Griggs will have plenty of experience within his squad to draw from, rejoining the squad is Edel McMahon who missed the Women’s Six Nations campaign through injury. Other experienced players in the mix is Leinster centre Sene Naoupu with 41 Irish caps, as well as two time Six Nations winner Claire Molloy with 71 caps.

“It’s an exciting group including a good mix of experienced players who have been involved in big Test matches and understand the detail, preparation and intensity required to win at this level. We are looking forward to heading to Parma and fine-tuning our game for Spain first and foremost.”

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Griggs told Munster Rugby

Ireland will face Spain in their opening game on Monday 13th of September at 5pm, before meeting Six Nations rivals Italy in the second round on Sunday 19th of September at 2pm.

Ireland are then set to face Scotland in Round 3 of the tournament on Saturday 25th of September at 5pm. The top team will secure a spot in Group B at Rugby World Cup 2021 and the runner up will enter the Final Qualification Tournament.

Take a look at Griggs 28-player squad below:


Enya Breen (UL Bohemian/Munster)(6 caps)
Eimear Considine (UL Bohemian/Munster)(18)
Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/Ulster)(13)
Lauren Delany (Sale Sharks/IQ Rugby)(14)
Stacey Flood (Railway Union/Leinster)(3)
Eve Higgins (Railway Union/Leinster)(3)
Emily Lane (Blackrock College/Munster)(3)
Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/Leinster)(12)
Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum/Leinster)*
Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe (Railway Union/Munster)(2)
Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/Leinster)(41)
Beibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe/Blackrock College/Connacht)(11)


Mary Healy (Naas RFC/Leinster)*
Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere/Leinster)(12)
Laura Feely (Blackrock College/Connacht)(19)
Nichola Fryday (Blackrock College/Connacht)(18)
Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemian/Munster)(Captain)(36)
Brittany Hogan (DCU/Old Belvedere/Ulster)(4)
Neve Jones (Malone/Ulster)(3)
Leah Lyons (Harlequins/IQ Rugby)(26)
Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/ Leinster)(16)
Edel McMahon (Wasps/IQ Rugby)(9)
Claire Molloy (Wasps/IQ Rugby)(71)
Cliodhna Moloney (Wasps/IQ Rugby)(26)
Sam Monaghan (Wasps/IQ Rugby)*
Katie O’Dwyer (Railway Union/Leinster)(3)
Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster)(34)
Dorothy Wall (Blackrock College/Munster)(7)

The post Six Munster players included in Ireland squad for Women’s Rugby World Cup qualifier appeared first on Sporting Limerick.