Two former Munster players included in Cell C Sharks side to face Munster

Gerbrandt Grobler could make his competitive Munster debut against Zebre. Photo: Diarmuid Greene/Sportsfile

MUNSTER will begin their United Rugby Championship campaign this Saturday as they welcome South African side Cell C Sharks to Thomand Park.

Former Munster pair Gerbrandt Grobler and Thomas du Toit will both start against their former side this Saturday.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Playing as a lock forward Grobler had a stint with the home side in the 2017-2018 season as he signed a one-year contract with the province, in his debut for the side he suffered an injury which had side lined him until February.

The talented South African may have had a stronger impact with Munster had it not been for such unfortunate circumstances.

Making his competitive debut against Zebre in the pro 14 in 2018. Grobler showed huge promise, however ultimately departed the club for Gloucester ahead of the 2018-19 seson.

Thomas du Toit Made six appearances for Munster during the 2016-17 campaign. The Cape Town native had signed a three month contract with the Irish club.

The prop made his debut for the province against Italian side Benetton that season in pro-12 action. The forward has since been vital to the South African side and will be a tough opponent for Munster come Saturday.

Another familiar face to play Munster this weekend comes in the form of South African scrum-half Ruan Pienaar.

The former Ulster player Made 141 appearances for the club in his seven-year span at Raven Hill, from 2010-2017 Pienaar made himself a club legend with the Irish province while facing Munster on several occasions throughout his time.

The former Magners League player of the year will again be a formidable opponent for the home side, while also boasting a wealth of experience.

The visitors have named an unchanged pack from the one that appeared in the Currie Cup final.

Cell C Sharks team to face Munster:

1.Khwezi Mona

2.Kerron Van Vuuren

3.Thomas du Toit

4.Le Roux Roets

5.Gerbrandt Grobler

6.Dylan Richardson

7.Henco Venter

8.Phepsi Buthelezi (C)

9.Ruan Pienaar

10.Boeta Chamberlain

11.Thaakir Abrahams

12.Marius Louw

13.Werner Kok

14.Yaw Penxe

15.Curwin Bosch


16.Fez Mbatha 17.Ntuthuko Mchunu 18.Khutha Mchunu

19.Hyron Andrews 20.Ruben Van Heerden 21.Mpilo Gumede

22. Sanele Nohamba 23. Jeremy Ward

The match will kick off at 7.35pm, coverage will be available on RTÉ, Super Sport and Premier Sports.

The post Two former Munster players included in Cell C Sharks side to face Munster appeared first on Sporting Limerick.