Fans’ Limerick SHC Team of the Year

AIB Munster Senior Club Hurling Championship Semi-Final, Gaelic Grounds, Limerick 6/11/2016 Patrickswell vs Glen Rovers Patrickswell’s Diarmaid Byrnes Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson

FANS of Sporting Limerick have been given the opportunity to vote for their Limerick SHC Team of the Year on social media.

Already the public have voted their back four with Kilmallock dominating the selection.

Barry Hennessy was the first man chosen, beating out Brian Murray for the No.1 jersey.

He was followed by a full-back line consisting solely of Kilmallock men.

Cathal Downes of Kildimo Pallaskenry was the first non-Kilmallock man to be chosen as he beat out Josh Considine for the number five geansaí with 57% of the public vote.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Downes was part of the Kildimo Pallaskenry side that picked up County Cup honours in their first season back in the senior ranks.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Sporting Limerick (@sportinglk)

Diarmaid Byrnes edged out both Conor McSweeney and Ciaran O’Connor for the centre-back berth. South Liberties’ man McSweeney had the most votes on Instagram and Facebook but Byrnes’ huge share on Twitter pulled him over the line with 36% of the overall vote ahead of McSweeney (34%) and O’Connor (30%).

Byrnes was one of Patrickswell’s standout players this year as they made it to the final of the competition as they fell to Kilmallock. Byrnes will be favoured to win a second All-Star later this year after helping himself to a third All-Ireland medal in August.


Diarmaid Byrnes (36%) just pips Conor McSweeney (34%) and Ciaran O’Connor (30%) for the centre back spot!🔵🟡@patrickswellgaa | #SportLK

— Sporting LK (@SportingLK) November 9, 2021

Philip O’Loughlin became the fifth Kilmallock man to make the cut as he beat out Richie English for the final half back slot winning 53% of the vote.

Last month, O’Loughlin captained the Balbec to the title, his fourth overall.

To vote on the team, stay tuned to our social channels with voting on our Facebook, Twitter and Instagram pages!

Sporting Limerick Facebook

Sporting Limerick Twitter

Sporting Limerick Instagram

The post Fans’ Limerick SHC Team of the Year | One each for Kilmallock, Patrickswell and Kildimo Pallaskenry in the half back line appeared first on Sporting Limerick.