Limerick native Anna Horan named in Ireland Hockey squad for Women’s Junior World Cup


HEAD coach David Passmore has named his travelling squad of 20 players to form Ireland’s first ever side to contest the women’s Junior World Cup in Potchefstroom, South Africa in December.

With a short window for preparation, coach Passmore has assembled his 20-player panel to travel to South Africa this December, including Limerick Native Anna Horan.

The Junior Green Army received a late invitation to the competition off the first reserve when Australia and New Zealand withdrew due to Covid-19 restrictions.

Horan has enjoyed a whirlwind return to international stage after a season in the United States’ NCAA system, helping Catholic Institute to their highest ever position in the EY Hockey League.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Other well known players such as Olympian Sarah McAuley, Loreto’s Aoife Taaffe, Ulster Elks’ Charlotte Beggs and UCD goalkeeper Ellie McLoughlin have all been included in Passmore’s 20-player squad.

Ireland will begin their Junior World Cup campaign on December 5th against Zimbabwe, before meeting top ranked the Netherlands a day later on the 6th.

The pool phase concludes with a clash against Korea with the hopes of finishing in the top two of the four team group to reach the quarter-finals.

Check out the squad in full below

  1. Ellie McLoughlin (GK)                 UCD / University College Dublin
  2. Holly Micklem (GK)                     Old Alex / Trinity College
  3. KJ Marshall (Def)                        UCD / University College Dublin
  4. Caitlin Sherin (Def)                      Loreto / Dublin City University (Co-Captain)
  5. Emma Paul (Def)                        UCD / University College Dublin
  6. Sarah McAuley (Def)                  UCD / University College Dublin
  7. Ellen Reid (Def)                           Loughborough Students, Eng / University of Loughborough
  8. Caoimhe Perdue (Def/Mid)        UCC / University College Cork (Co-Captain)
  9. Anna Horan (Def/Mid)               Catholic Institute / Mary Immaculate College
  10. Siofra Murdoch (Def/Mid)          Harvard, USA / Harvard University
  11. Christina Hamill (Mid)                 Loreto / Technical University Dublin
  12. Amy Elliott (Mid)                         UCD / University College Dublin
  13. Lisa Mulcahy (Mid/Def)              Loreto / University College Dublin
  14. Sophia Cole (Mid/Def)                UCD / University College Dublin
  15. Charlotte Beggs (Mid)                Ulster Elks / University of Ulster Jordanstown
  16. Siofra O’Brien (Fwd)                   Loreto / Technical University Dublin
  17. Nadia Benallal (Fwd)                  Beeston, Eng / Nottingham Trent University
  18. Rachel Kelly  (Fwd/ Mid)            UCD / University College Dublin
  19. Yasmin Pratt (Fwd)                     Loreto / IT Carlow
  20. Aoife Taaffe (Fwd)                      Loreto / University College Dublin

The post Limerick native Anna Horan named in Ireland Hockey squad for Women’s Junior World Cup appeared first on Sporting Limerick.