Two Munster players named from the start in Irish U20s side to face Leinster

THE Ireland U20s Match Day squad, sponsored by PwC, has been named for Friday’s Challenge Match against Leinster Development at Energia Park (Kick-off 2pm).

Head Coach Richie Murphy has chosen seven Munster player in his extended squad of 26 players for the clash, as preparations continue for the opening game of the U20 Six Nations against Wales at Musgrave Park on Friday, 4th February.

Patrick Campbell is retained at full back, while George Coombes comes into the side at the wing. There are places for Kieran Ryan, Conor Maloney, Adam Maher, Tony Butler and Daniel Squires among the replacements.

12 December 2021; Patrick Campbell of Munster on his way to scoring his side’s second try during the Heineken Champions Cup Pool B match between Wasps and Munster at Coventry Building Society Arena in Coventry, England. Photo by Stephen McCarthy/Sportsfile

Ulster back row Reuben Crothers will once again captain the side.

Commenting ahead of the game, Murphy said:

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

“We have had two really valuable work-outs either side of Christmas and Friday is another opportunity for players in the extended group to showcase themselves, as we build towards the Six Nations and our first Friday Night Lights game in Cork.”

Ireland open their 2022 Championship against Wales on 4th February (Kick-off 8pm, live on RTÉ), before Murphy’s charges travel to France in Round 2 on 11th February (Kick-off 8pm, live on Virgin Media).

Italy will be the visitors to Musgrave Park in Round 3 on 25th February (Kick-off 8pm, live on Virgin Media), followed by a trip to England in Round 4 on 12th March (Kick-off 7.15pm, live on RTÉ).

The Six Nations concludes on ‘Super Sunday’, 20th March, as Ireland face Scotland in Cork (Kick-off 5pm, live on Virgin Media).

There will be live coverage of Friday’s game on Irish Rugby social media channels.

Ireland U20s (v Leinster Development):

15. Patrick Campbell (Young Munster RFC/Munster)
14. George Coomber (UCC RFC/Munster)
13. Fionn Gibbons  (UCD RFC/Leinster)
12. Ben Brownlee (Blackrock College/Leinster)
11. Aitzol King (Clontarf FC/Leinster)
10. Charlie Tector  (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)
9. Matthew Devine (Corinthians RFC/Connacht)

1. Oisin Michel (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)
2. James McCormick (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)
3. Rory McGuire (UCD RFC/Leinster)
4. John Glasgow (City of Armagh RFC/Ulster)
5. Mark Morrissey (UCD RFC/Leinster)
6. Lorcan McLoughlin (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)
7. Reuben Crothers (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)(Captain)
8. James Culhane (UCD RFC/Leinster).


16. Josh Hanlon (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)
17. Kieran Ryan (Shannon RFC/Munster)
18. Scott Wilson (Wallace HS/Ulster)
19. Adam McNamee (Malone RFC/Ulster)
20. Conor Moloney (Young Munster RFC/Munster)
21. Adam Maher (Young Munster RFC/Munster)

22. Tony Butler (Garryowen FC/Munster)
23. Daniel Squires (UCC RFC/Munster)
24. Conor O’Tighearnaigh (UCD RFC/Leinster)
25. Reece Malone (Loughborough University/IQ Rugby)
26. Dominic Rhys Hey (Gloucester Hartpury Rugby/IQ Rugby).

The post Two Munster players named from the start in Irish U20s side to face Leinster appeared first on Sporting Limerick.