New Church of Ireland Bishop of Limerick

Bishop Michael Burrows
Rt Revd Michael Burrows, Bishop-elect of the united dioceses of Tuam, Limerick and Killaloe

Rt Revd Michael Burrows has been elected Bishop of the united dioceses of Tuam, Limerick and Killaloe at a meeting of the Episcopal Electoral College in Christ Church Cathedral, Dublin.  

A native of Dublin, Bishop Burrows succeeds the Rt Revd Patrick Rooke (formerly Bishop of Tuam, Killala and Achonry) and the Rt Revd Dr Kenneth Kearon (formerly Bishop of Limerick and Killaloe) who both retired at the end of October 2021, at which time the two dioceses were united.

He has served as Bishop of Cashel, Ferns and Ossory since 2006, and was previously Dean of Cork, Rector of Bandon, Church of Ireland Chaplain at Trinity College Dublin, and Curate in Douglas with Frankfield.

Following the ratification of his election by the House of Bishops, Bishop Burrows will be transferred from the United Dioceses of Cashel, Ferns and Ossory to the United Dioceses of Tuam, Limerick and Killaloe on a date to be determined.

Bishop Burrows said he was grateful to the Electoral College for their affirmation and trust.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

“I leave a diocese which I have greatly loved after nearly 16 years, having learned so much from them, but clearly it is a time to embrace the new challenge of a new diocese and I look forward to working to cement the new United Dioceses of Tuam, Limerick and Killaloe and serving God’s people there.”

The Most Revd Dr Michael Jackson, Archbishop of Dublin and Primate of Ireland, said Bishop Burrows had served the Church of God and the Church of Ireland assiduously as deacon, priest and bishop.

“The clergy and people of Cashel, Ferns and Ossory have been greatly enriched by his commitment, compassion and energy.  He will readily invest all these qualities in the life of Tuam, Limerick and Killaloe. I wish him all that is best in his new diocese under God.”

The son of a Church of Ireland clergyman, Michael Burrows was born in 1961 and ordained in 1987 after graduating from Trinity College Dublin. He is Chair of the Church of Ireland’s Commission for Christian Unity and Dialogue, Chair of the Board of Governors of the Anglican Centre in Rome, Co-Chair of the Church of Ireland-Methodist Covenant Council, and Patron of the Irish Guild of the Church (Cumann Gaelach na hEaglaise).

A keen railway enthusiast and organist, he is married to Claire and they have four grown-up children,Henry, Andrew, Grainne and James.