Team| Zebo starts as Munster name their side to face Glasgow


MUNSTER continue their United Rugby Championship campaign with a game against Glasgow on Friday night at 8:15.

As the Six Nations is now underway Munster were forced to make many changes due to nine of their first team players being picked for the national side.

With the absences Munster do have it will be a great opportunity for lesser known players to step up for their club. With that sentiment there are eight changes to the side that secured a bonus-point win away to Zebre last time out.

23 January 2022; Simon Zebo of Munster with teammate Mike Haley, left, after he scored their side’s second try during the Heineken Champions Cup Pool B match between Munster and Wasps at Thomond Park in Limerick. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

Simon Zebo starts on the wing for his 150th Munster appearance and Gavin Coombes returns from international duty to start at no.8. Joining the pair are Mike Haley, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell and Ben Healy as they come into the backline. Stephen Archer and Chris Cloete join Coombes in the pack.

Jack O’Donoghue captains the side in the back row with Coombes and Cloete. The South African has scored three tries in as many games this season and makes his first appearance since October.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Neil Cronin keeps his place at scrum-half after a Player of the Match performance against Zebre. Healy slots in at fly-half beside Cronin. Haley, Shane Daly and Zebo form the back three with a centre partnership of Scannell and Farrell.

Jeremy Loughman, Diarmuid Barron and Archer pack down in the front row with an unchanged second row partnership of Jean Kleyn and Fineen Wycherley.

Munster team and Replacements

Munster: Mike Haley; Shane Daly, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Simon Zebo; Ben Healy, Neil Cronin; Jeremy Loughman, Diarmuid Barron, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Fineen Wycherley; Jack O’Donoghue (C), Chris Cloete, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Josh Wycherley, John Ryan, Cian Hurley, Alex Kendellen, Paddy Patterson, Jack Crowley, John Hodnett.

The post Team| Zebo starts as Munster name their side to face Glasgow appeared first on Sporting Limerick.