Ardscoil Rís book All-Ireland Final Place


ARDSCOIL Rís are heading to Croke Park later this month, for the All-Ireland Colleges Final, after a seven point victory over Good Counsel College of Wexford.

The Limerick school, defeated in the Harty Cup final last month, were the stronger side, despite a sluggish start.

Victory was made possible by goals from Shane O’Brien and David Kenendy. Niall Moran’s side led by the minimum at half-time, 1-7 to 0-9, with O’Brien’s individual goal lighting up this contest midway through the half.

The Kilmallack man was also accurate from frees after taking over duty from Niall O’Farrell. The Leinster champions were unable to get to their level which saw them win that title at ease, but they were kept in touch during the second half by frees from Jack Redmond.

Redmond scored six of their seven second half points as Jack Golden, Cian Scully and O’Brien were all on target in a dominant second half.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

The clinching goal came from David Kennedy, who added to two earlier points, with a low finish.

St. Kieran’s College will provide the opposition at Croke Park on March 17th, after the Kilkenny kingpins defeated St. Joesph’s Tulla earlier on Saturday afternoon.

Ardscoil Rís: Shane O’Brien 1-8 (5f); Niall O’Farrell 0-5 (2 f, 1 ‘65’); David Kennedy 1-2; Jack Golden, Cian Scully 0-1 each.

Good Counsel: Jack Redmond 0-11 (10f); Cillian Byrne, Marty Murphy, Billy Reid, Peter McDonald, Conor M Foley (free) 0-1 each.

ARDSCOIL RÍS: Seimi Gully (Clonlara); Evan O’Leary (Ahane), John Fitzgerald (Na Piarsaigh), Colm Flynn (Sixmilebridge); Brian O’Keeffe (Murroe-Boher), Vince Harrington (Na Piarsaigh), Michael Gavin (Ballybrown); Cian Scully (Dromin Athlaca Banogue); JJ Carey (Na Piarsaigh), Rian O’Byrne (Crecora-Manister), Oisin O’Farrell (Askeaton); Niall O’Farrell (Broadford), Jack Golden (Monaleen), Shane O’Brien (Kilmallock), David Kennedy (Sixmilebridge).

Subs: Diarmuid Stritch (Clonlara) for N O’Farrell (half-time), Rian McNamara (Cratloe) for O’Keefe (half-time), Dylan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh) for O’Byrne (51 mins), Fintan Fitzgerald (Mungret St. Pauls) for Golden (60 mins).

GOOD COUNSEL COLLEGE: Michael Kirwan (Glenmore); Gary Porter (Cushinstown), Eoin Whelan (Fethard), Danny Glennon (Tullogher/Rosbercon); Billy Reid (Glenmore), Conor M Foley (Horeswood), Lar Murphy (Tullogher/Rosbercon); Peter McDonald (Mullinavat), Michael Dundon (Clogeen); George O’Connor (Mullinavat), Jack Redmond (Rathnure), Eoin O’Brien (Rower/Inistoge); Eoghan Lyng (Rower/Inistoge), Marty Murphy (Tullogher/Rosberson), Cillian Byrne (Fethard).

Subs: Ruaidhrí Delaney (Rower/Inistoge) for Porter (53), Cathal Parker (Horeswood) for Byrne (55), Barry Hassey (Davidstown) for O’Brien (60).

REFEREE: Liam Gordon (Galway).

The post Ardscoil Rís book All-Ireland Final Place appeared first on Sporting Limerick.