Hurlers and footballers in Munster finals for the first time in 88 years

Both senior sides qualified for Munster finals within the space of 24 hours over the weekend.

Limerick will contest both Munster Senior Championship finals for the first time in 88 years after a near perfect weekend in both codes.

All those years ago, the Limerick footballers were defeated 1-14 to 1-2 by Kerry, who they will face in this years decider.

In 1934, the hurlers defeated Waterford 4-8 to 2-5 to retain the title they won at the Deise’s expense the previous year.

That team won four in a row, a feat that John Kiely’s side will be looking to emulate when they meet Clare in this year’s decider.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Limerick’s draw with Clare on Sunday afternoon ensured a rematch of the teams in this year’s hurling final on June 5 in Semple Stadium, Thurles at 4pm.

On Saturday evening, Billy Lee’s footballers sealed a first Munster final berth since 2010 with a comprehensive six point win over Tipperary in Thurles.

Goals in either half from Josh Ryan and Brian Donovan were key in the 2-8 to 0-8 win.

Their reward is a Munster final meeting with Kerry in Killarney on May 28 at 3pm.

This will be the fifth time that both sides will feature in both Munster finals. 1895, 1905, 1922 and 1934 were the other occasions with Limerick losing both finals in each of the first three times they played in both.

For the footballers, it will be a 14th Munster final, with just one success, coming all the way back in 1896.

The hurlers will be competing in a 50th Munster hurling decider, with 22 titles to their credit, including their current run of three in a row.