Limerick’s Joy Neville included in the Rugby World Cup referees pool

Limerick referee Joy Neville who will officiate at the Women's Rugby World Cup.

The team that will officiate the 26 matches in the Women’s Rugby World Cup comprises nine referees, five assistant referees and four television match officials, selected from 11 different unions.

Limerick referee Joy Neville has been named in an 18-strong team of match officials which will be led by an all-female team of referees.

This will be her second World Cup having officiated at the 2017 tournament where she took charge of the final.

Neville also represented her country in the 2006 and 2010 World Cups.

Selection for the pinnacle tournament in women’s 15s rugby follows a comprehensive review of match official performances over the last four international series. It also features an exciting blend of youth and experience.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

The highly anticipated tournament, which runs from October 8 to November 12 will take place in New Zealand and be the first time that the women’s tournament has been hosted in the southern hemisphere.

Neville, who refereed the Rugby World Cup 2017 final, is selected for her second tournament along with Aimee Barrett-Theron.

The IRFU’s Head of Referees Dudley Phillips congratulated Neville on her huge achievement in the sport.

“I’d like to congratulate Joy on her appointment to the RWC Referee panel. This will be Joy’s second World Cup and having recently returned from Maternity leave it is testament to her drive and hard work that she has been selected. Joy has been and continues to be a leader in Women’s Rugby as a player and as a referee and this is a hugely deserved honour”

The World Cup will kick off at Auckland’s Eden Park and twelve of the world’s top women’s 15s teams go head-to-head over the following month to determine who will be crowned world champions.

The RWC 2021 Match Officials Team

Referees (nine): Aimee Barrett-Theron (South Africa), Maggie Cogger-Orr (New Zealand), Sara Cox (England), Hollie Davidson (Scotland), Aurélie Groizeleau (France), Lauren Jenner (New Zealand), Clara Munarini (Italy), Amber McLachlan (Australia), Joy Neville (Ireland).

Assistant referees (five): Doriane Domenjo (France), Tyler Miller (Australia), Nikki O’Donnell (England), Kat Roche (USA), Julianne Zussman (Canada)

TMOs (four): Chris Assmus (Canada), Lee Jeffrey (New Zealand), Ian Tempest (England), Ben Whitehouse (Wales)

The post Limerick’s Joy Neville included in the Rugby World Cup referees pool appeared first on Sporting Limerick.