Coombes in Munster side to face Ulster

Gavin Coombes returns for the URC clash with Ulster

The Munster team has been named for Friday night’s URC quarter-final against Ulster at the Kingspan Stadium when they look to end a ten year trophy drought.

Peter O’Mahony returns to captain the side and is one of four personnel changes from the side that faced Leinster in the final regular game of the season.

Damian de Allende, Gavin Coombes, and Stephen Archer also start for the knock-out clash. Coombes will be making his first appearance since the beginning of April after overcoming an ankle injury.

It’s also a landmark occasion for prop forward Stephen Archer who will make his 248th appearance in red on Friday night becoming Munster’s second most-capped player. He joins Josh Wycherley and Niall Scannell in the front row.

There’s a positional switch for Fineen Wycherley who returns to the second row to pack down with Jean Kleyn.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

The back row trio of O’Mahony, Greencore Munster Rugby Academy man Alex Kendellen and the returning Coombes complete the pack.

In the backline de Allende resumes his midfield partnership with Chris Farrell and the half-back partnership of Conor Murray and Joey Carbery remains unchanged.

It is as you were for Keith Earls, Andrew Conway, and Mike Haley in the back three. In player news, Jack O’Donoghue was unavailable due to a back strain.


Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Damian de Allende, Keith Earls; Joey Carbery, Conor Murray; Josh Wycherley, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Fineen Wycherley, Peter O’Mahony (C), Alex Kendellen, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Diarmuid Barron, Jeremy Loughman, John Ryan, Jason Jenkins, Thomas Ahern, Craig Casey, Ben Healy, Chris Cloete.

The post Squad Announcement | Gavin Coombes named in the Munster Side To Face Ulster In Quarter-Final appeared first on Sporting Limerick.