Final push for knock-out places in Limerick SHC


by Mal Keaveney

BY TEA-TIME next Sunday, the line-up for the knock-out stages of the 2022 Bon Secours Hospital Limerick Senior Hurling Championship will be known, with the penultimate round of deciding Group matches fixed for the weekend. 

In Group One (from which four teams will advance), even ahead of their outing with Ahane in Claughaun, favourites Na Piarsaigh are guaranteed a semi-final spot. The other semi place is between holders Kilmallock and Doon, who clash in Fedamore. 

It was in the most dramatic of circumstances that 1/4 shots Doon kept their semi-final aspirations alive, as top defender Patrick Cummins pounced at the death for a match-winning goal against Patrickswell at Kilmallock’s Fitzgerald Park. 

The other top-tier contest is between deadly rivals Adare and Patrickswell in Askeaton.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Assured of knock-out places are Na Piarsaigh, Kilmallock, and Doon, with the ‘Well likely to join this trio. Mathematically either Adare or Ahane could also make the cut, depending on results.  

In the interest of fairness, all Group One matches on Sunday are timed for 4pm starts.

The only thing confirmed in Group Two is that Blackrock’s (Ardpatrick/Kilfinane) short stay in the senior ranks is over. The team are relegated, with the remaining sides – Ballybrown, Kildimo/Pallaskenry, Garryspillane, South Liberties and Mungret/St. Paul’s – all in the mix for advancement. 

However, with only two teams to progress here, Ballybrown and Kildimo/Pallaskenry are both in pole position to advance.  

The latter have been the surprise packets this season, and for whom two-time All-Star Kyle Hayes – scorer of ten points from play against Blackrock at the weekend – has been in scintillating form.

Sportingly, all Group Two games throw-in at 5pm on Saturday. 

An interesting 24 hours of hurling await.


SHC Fixtures:

Group 2 (Saturday) – South Liberties v Ballybrown, Fedamore (Jonathon Hayes REF); Blackrock v Mungret/St. Paul’s, Ballyagran (Michael Sexton REF); and Garryspillane v Kildimo/Pallaskenry, Caherconlish (Eamon Stapleton REF). All start at 5pm. 

Group One (Sunday) – Ahane v Na Piarsaigh, Claughaun (Donnacha O’Callaghan REF); Doon v Kilmallock, Fedamore (John O’Halloran REF); and Adare v Patrickswell, Askeaton (Johnny Murphy REF). All start at 4pm.