Six changes in Munster team to face South African Bulls

Munster fans.

ACADEMY players Edwin Edogbo (19) and Patrick Campbell (20) have been named in the Munster squad to host Vodacom Bulls in the United Rugby Championship on the new hybrid pitch at Thomond Park this Saturday (kick-off 7.35pm). 

Lock Edogbo will be making his debut, while Campbell is selected at full-back on this occasion.

There are six personnel changes to the team that faced Connacht last time out, with three positional moves.

Campbell reverts to his more familiar role at 15 with Calvin Nash and Shane Daly, who will win his fiftieth cap for the province, returning from South Africa to start on either flank.

Dan Goggin and Malakai Fekitoa continue their centre partnership with a new half-back pairing of Craig Casey and Joey Carbery. Carbery starts at out-half for the first time this season after filling in at full-back in Galway

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Jeremy Loughman starts for the first time in 2022/23, with Stephen Archer also coming into the side as Niall Scannell completes the front row.

Jean Kleyn and Edogbo start in the engine room with Tadhg Beirne moving to the back row alongside captain Peter O’Mahony and Gavin Coombes.

Munster: Patrick Campbell, Calvin Nash, Malakai Fekitoa, Dan Goggin, Shane Daly, Joey Carbery, Craig Casey, Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer, Jean Kleyn, Edwin Edogbo, Tadhg Beirne, Peter O’Mahony (C), Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Diarmuid Barron, Dave Kilcoyne, Roman Salanoa, Tom Ahern, Jack O’Donoghue, Conor Murray, Jack Crowley, John Hodnett.