Limerick hurlers set for All-Star haul

Barry Nash who is in the running for the Hurler of the Year award.

LIMERICK can anticipate strong representation on the PWC All-Stars Hurling Team, which will be unveiled on RTÉ Two tonight from 7pm. 

Limerick’s nominees are Nickie Quaid, Mike Casey, Seán Finn, Barry Nash, Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Will O’Donoghue, Gearóid Hegarty, Kyle Hayes, Tom Morrissey Aaron Gillane, and Séamus Flanagan.

Beaten finalists Kilkenny have eight nominations, while next-door neighbours Clare and Galway have eight apiece. 

Limerick duo Byrnes and Nash are also in the running for the Player of the Year, as is TJ Reid of Kilkenny. 

Joe McKenna is Limerick’s record All-Star winner with six, closely followed by his South Liberties clubmate Pat Hartigan on five.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Since the inception of the scheme in 1971, more than 40 Limerick players have earned All-Star recognition, between them taking home close on 80 Cú Chulainn statuettes.