New era begins for Limerick footballers

Limerick football manager Ray Dempsey who will name his side for the McGrath Cup final tomorrow.

RAY Dempsey’s reign as Limerick Senior Football Manager begins with a visit from Waterford to Mick Neville Park, Rathkeale in the McGrath Cup opener on this Wednesday night, 7pm.

The Mayoman is joined in the backroom by fellow countyman Martin Barrett, Eoin Joy (Fr. Casey’s), Kerry’s Mark Fitzgerald, Mike Downey of Castlemahon, John Chawke (Kildimo/Pallaskenry) and former Kerry All-Ireland winner Anthony Maher, while there are roles also for Monaleen’s Leo Morrison (Strength and Conditioning), Maura O’Dea (Pyhsio) and David O’Connor (kit manager). 

All-Star nominee Cian Sheehan is the only starter from county champions Newcastle West, while beaten finalists Adare have David Connolly, Paul Maher and Robbie Burke on first-team duty.  Joint captains Donal O’Sullivan (Monaleen) and Newcastle West’s Iain Corbett are both named amongst the replacements.  

Seamus Mulvihill of Kerry will referee. 

Limerick/Waterford/Tipperary are grouped together, and just one team qualify for the final on Wednesday January 18.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

The other group consists of the big guns, namely All-Ireland winners Kerry, Cork and Clare. 

All matches are being streamed by Munster GAA.

Limerick: Aaron O’Sullivan (Pallasgreen); David Connolly (Adare), Seán O’Dea (Kilteely/Dromkeen), Gordon Brown (Na Piarsaigh); Barry Coleman (Rathkeale), Brian Fanning (Pallasgreen), Colm McSweeney (Gerald Griffins); Cian Sheehan (Newcastle West), Cillian Fahy (Dromcollogher/Broadford); Cathal Downes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), Dara Noonan (Gerald Griffins), Paul Maher (Adare); Adrian Enright (Fr. Casey’s), Killian Ryan (Mungret St. Paul’s) and Robbie Burke (Adare).