Dempsey names team for McGrath Cup Final

Michael Donovan forms a new midfield partnership with Cillian Fahy for the McGrath Cup final.

LIMERICK football manager Ray Dempsey has named his team to play Cork in Friday night’s McGrath Cup Final in Mallow, throw-in 7.30pm. 

The line-up features a new midfield partnership with Cillian Fahy teaming up with Galbally’s Michael Donovan, a second-half replacement in the draw with Tipperary at the weekend. 

Iain Corbett has again been handed the number six shirt, while the attack will be led by his Newcastle West clubmate Cian Sheehan.

Dual-star Cathal Downes is chosen at full forward.

Kerry’s Brian Fleming will referee and the game will be shown live on TG4’s YouTube page.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Limerick: Donal O’Sullivan (Monaleen, joint captain); David Connolly (Adare), Seán O’Dea (Kilteely/Dromkeen), Barry Coleman (Rathkeale); Brian Fanning (Pallasgreen), Iain Corbett (Newcastle West, joint captain), Jack Ryan (Dromcollogher/Broadford); Michael Donovan (Galbally), Cillian Fahy (Dromcollogher/Broadford); Gordon Brown (Na Piarsaigh), Cian Sheehan (Newcastle West), Paul Maher (Adare); Adrian Enright (Fr. Casey’s), Cathal Downes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), Colm McSweeney (Gerald Griffins). 

Subs: Craig MacInness (St. Kieran’s), Robbie Bourke (Adare), Diarmuid Kelly (Newcastle West), Jim Liston (Gerald Griffins), Davy Lyons (Adare), Tony McCarthy (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), James Molyneaux (Dromcollogher/Broadford), Peter Nash (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), James Naughton (St. Senan’s), Eoin O’Shea (Monaleen), Killian Ryan (Mungret/St. Paul’s). 

Meanwhile, manager John Kiely will name his side for Sunday’s Co-Op Superstores Munster Hurling League fixture with Kerry at Austin Stack Park, Tralee (1pm) this Friday night.  It’s likely to feature several fringe or new players. 

Neither team can progress to the final, which will instead involve Cork and Tipperary at Páirc Uí Rinn on the same afternoon, throw-in 3pm. 

Eamon Stapleton of Doon has been appointed as referee and both matches will be streamed by Munster GAA TV.

On the colleges front, holders and favourites University of Limerick begin their Fitzgibbon Cup campaign away to ATU Galway this Thursday, 7pm.  UL’s squad includes Limerick quintet Adam English (Doon), Rory Duff (Mungret/St. Paul’s), Mark Quinlan (Garryspillane), Colin Coughlan (Ballybrown) and Cathal O’Neill (Crecora/Manister). 

In last night’s action, Jamie Wall managed Mary Immaculate College drew 1-16 apiece at SETU Carlow. Waterford’s Carthach Daly scored a late goal for Mary I.