Hodnett and Ryan return for Munster’s trip to Toulouse 

John Ryan is due to return to the Munster next year.

MUNSTER have named their side to tackle Toulouse in the Heineken Champions Cup which has a 3.15 pm kick-off at Stade Ernest-Wallon on Sunday. 

Graham Rowntree has made two changes from the team that beat Northampton Saints at the weekend, as John Ryan and John Hodnett both come into the pack.

Diarmuid Barron, Jack O’Sullivan, Conor Murray, Ben Healy and Malakai Fekitoa join the squad as replacements.

Meanwhile, Jack O’Donoghue can shave a week off his three-week ban – imposed yesterday after he was red-carded against Northampton Saints at Thomond Park on Saturday – provided the 28-year-old applies for and successfully completes a World Cup Rugby coaching intervention. 

If this happens, O’Donoghue will be available from January 30, well ahead of Munster’s URC home fixture with Ospreys on February 17. 

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

After this weekend, Munster will be without internationals Tadhg Beirne, Craig Casey, Gavin Coombes, Jack Crowley, Keith Earls, Dave Kilcoyne, Conor Murray and Peter O’Mahony due to their involvement in the Six Nations Championship, which runs from February 4 to March 18. 

Munster’s only previous clash with Toulouse at Sunday’s venue was way back in 1996, one that the home side won convincingly 60-19, with David Corkery scoring Munster’s only try.  

Munster: Mike Haley; Calvin Nash, Antoine Frisch, Jack Crowley, Shane Daly; Joey Carbery, Craig Casey; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Peter O’Mahony (captain), John Hodnett, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Diarmuid Barron, Josh Wycherley, Roman Salanoa, Jack O’Sullivan, Alex Kendellen, Conor Murray, Ben Healy, Malakai Fekitoa.

The Munster XV to face Connacht in the Women’s Inter-provincial Championship at The Sportsground, Galway tomorrow (1pm) has also been selected.

Kate Flannery will make her first start for the province at inside-centre. 

Munster: Aoife Corey (UL Bohemian RFC); Aoife Doyle (Railway Union RFC), Stephanie Nunan (UL Bohemian RFC), Kate Flannery (UL Bohemian RFC), Alana McInerney (UL Bohemian RFC); Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemian RFC, captain), Muirne Wall (UL Bohemian RFC); Róisín Ormond (Ballincollig RFC), Kate Sheehan (UL Bohemian RFC), Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemian RFC); Clodagh O’Halloran (UL Bohemian RFC), Claire Bennett (UL Bohemian RFC); Dorothy Wall (Blackrock College RFC), Maeve Óg O’Leary (Blackrock College RFC), Deirbhile Nic a Bháird (Old Belvedere RFC).

Replacements: Chloe Pearse (UL Bohemian RFC), Gillian Coombes (Ballincollig RFC), Eilís Cahill (UL Bohemian RFC), Sarah Garrett (UL Bohemian RFC), Ciara Farrell (UL Bohemian RFC), Rachel Allen (UL Bohemian RFC), Stephanie Carroll (Railway Union RFC), Heather Kennedy (Ballincollig RFC).