Cork too strong for Limerick in McGrath Cup Final

Iain Corbett who has been ruled out of the Tailteann Cup game against Longford.

CORK justified their favourites tag with a comfortable win over Limerick in last night’s floodlit McGrath Cup Senior Football Final at Mallow.

Cork were five points ahead approaching the interval, but the visitors were afforded a lifeline when captain Iain Corbett netted from the penalty spot which helped leave only a point between the sides at half-time (0-7 to 1-3).

Scores flowed for Cork in the closing half from Brian Hurley and Stephen Sherlock, but Limerick kept in the chase through a goal from veteran Davy Lyons. 

It finished 0-19 to 2-7 in favour of the Leesiders. 

Limerick’s next outing will be a difficult Division Two opener against Derry at Owenbeg on Saturday week.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Meanwhile, All-Ireland Final man-of-the-match Donnacha Ó Dálaigh and his Monaleen clubmate Jamie Power have been drafted into the Limerick squad, and both are amongst the replacements for tomorrow’s Munster League clash with Kerry at Austin Stack Park, Tralee (1pm).

The starting selection is notable for the welcome return of Pat ‘Simon’ Ryan of Doon.

Limerick: David McCarthy (Glenroe); Fergal O’Connor (Effin), Richie English (Doon), Aaron Costello (Kilmallock); Mark Quinlan (Garryspillane), Ronan Connolly (Adare), Ciaran Barry (Ahane); Darragh O’Donovan (Doon), Jimmy Quilty (Blackrock); Micheál Houlihan (Kilmallock), Conor O’Grady (Hospital-Herbertstown), David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca); Pat Ryan (Doon), Barry Murphy (Doon), Darren O’Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry).

Substitutes: Jamie Power (Monaleen), Rory Duff (Mungret St Pauls), Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock), Dan Morrissey (Ahane), Shane O’Brien (Kilmallock), Aidan O’Connor (Ballybrown), Donnacha Ó’Dálaigh (Monaleen).