Limerick teams announced for unique double header

Limerick captain Declan Hannon will miss Sunday's championship game.

MANAGERS John Kiely and Mark Fitzgerald have revealed their teams for Sunday’s unique hurling/football league double-header at the TUS Gaelic Grounds. 

Captain Declan Hannon of Adare is an ongoing injury enforced absentee. Hannon, however, is expected feature in anticipated event of Limerick qualifying for the league semi-finals the following weekend. 

The team features several changes from the one which swept aside Westmeath. 

Fitzgerald has made minimal change to the team which drew with Meath.

Meanwhile, Limerick take on Down in the National Camogie League today (Saturday) at 2pm.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Limerick (v Wexford NHL, 1.45pm): Nickie Quaid (Effin); Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Dan Morrissey (Ahane), Richie English (Doon); Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell), Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry); Barry Murphy (Doon), Darragh O’Donovan (Doon); Michéal Houlihan (Kilmallock), Cathal O’Neill (Crecora/Manister), Tom Morrissey (Ahane); Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell), Séamus Flanagan (Feohanagh/Castlemahon), Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh).

Substitutes: David McCarthy (Glenroe), Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Ronan Connolly (Adare), Colin Coughlan (Ballybrown), Gearoid Hegarty (St Patrick’s), Barry Nash (South Liberties), Aidan O’Connor (Ballybrown), Fergal O’Connor (Effin), Donnacha Ó Dálaigh (Monaleen), William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh), Oisin O’Reilly (Kilmallock).

Limerick (v Kildare NFL, 3.45pm): (Donal O’Sullivan (Monaleen); Mike Donovan (Galbally), Sean O’Dea (KilteelyDromkeen), Brian Fanning (Pallasgreen); Barry Coleman (Rathkeale), Colm McSweeney (Gerald Griffins), Tony McCarthy (Kildimo/Pallaskenry); Cathal Downes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), Cillian Fahy (Dromcollogher/Broadford); Paul Maher (Adare), James Naughton (St Senan’s), Cian Sheehan; (Newcastle West); Adrian Enright (Fr Casey’s), Brian Donovan (Monaleen), Hugh Bourke (Adare).

Substitutes: Aaron O’Sullivan (Pallasgreen), Robbie Bourke (Adare), Gordon Brown (Na Piarsaigh), David Connolly (Adare), Fiachra Cotter (Fr Casey’s), Tommy Griffin (Gerald Griffins), Jim Liston (Gerald Griffins), Davy Lyons (Adare), Peter Nash (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), Killian Ryan (Mungret St Pauls), Cormac Woulfe (St Senan’s).

Limerick (v Down NCL at Liatroim Fontenoys, Saturday, 2pm): Laura O’Neill (Na Piarsaigh); Teresa Dore (Charleville), Muireann Creamer (Cappamore), Stephanie Woulfe (Templeglantine); Áine Ó Tiarnaigh (Na Piarsaigh), Ailbhe Larkin (Mungret St Paul’s), Marian Quaid (Bruff); Noirin Lenihan (Croagh/Kilfinny), Sophie O’Callaghan (Adare); Mairead Ryan (Bruff), Áine Reynolds (Ahane), Caoimhe Lyons (Monaleen; Caoimhe Costelloe (Adare), Claire Keating (Cappamore), Orlaith Kelleher (Croagh/Kilfinny).

Substitutes: Emma Kennedy (Doon), Aoife Nelligan (Monaleen), Éle Madigan (Ahane), Cliodhna Ryan (Doon), Sarah O’Brien (Templeglantine), Lizanna Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), Mary O’Callaghan (Bruff), Amy Burke (Monaleen), Emily O’Halloran (Monaleen).