Under-20 footballers play Cork for place in Munster final

Limerick's Aaron Neville in action against Richie O’Sullivan of Cork in last years Munster U20 football semi-final.

LIMERICK have a rare opportunity of reaching a Munster Under-20 football final when they play Cork in this Monday night’s semi-final at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Throw in is at 7pm and the game will be broadcast on TG4 and YouTube Sport.

It is Cork’s first outing in the championship while the Shane Kelly managed Limerick side accounted for Waterford (2-6 to 0-6) in their quarter final with the goals coming from David O’Shaughnessy (Ballysteen) and Newcastle West’s Aaron Neville. 

Limerick won their only provincial championship under the management of the late Liam Kearns and captaincy of John Galvin (Croom) in 2000 when they scored a 0-7 to 0-4 victory over Waterford. The side subsequently lost narrowly the All-Ireland Final to a star-studded Tyrone team. 

Limerick: Craig MacInnes (St. Kieran’s); Tadhg Hourigan (Pallasgreen), Frank Corcoran (Mungret St. Paul’s), Diarmuid Buckley, captain, (Fr. Casey’s); Jack McCarthy (Fr. Casey’s), Eoin McGrath (Galbally), Ciarán O’Sullivan (Castlemahon); Darragh Murray (Monaleen), Emmet Rigter (Newcastle West); Aaron Neville (Newcastle West), Mike Molloy (Knockaderry), Bobby Smith (Ballybrown); David O’Shaughnessy (Ballysteen), Ronan Quirke (Fr. Casey’s), Diarmuid Ryan (Feenagh/Kilmeedy). 

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Replacements: Jack O’Keeffe (Galbally), Tommy Ryan (Dromcollogher/Broadford), David Boyce (Feenagh/Kilmeedy), Zach McCarthy (Galtee Gaels), Ciarán Uwatse (Mungret St. Paul’s), Shane Cross (St. Patrick’s), Seán Ryan (St. Kieran’s), Padhraic McMahon (Ballysteen), Marc Nolan (Fr. Casey’s). 

The game will be refereed by Niall Quinn of Clare. 

Holders Kerry and Clare contest the other semi-final at Austin Stack Park, Tralee. Limerick’s Jonathan Hayes (St. Senan’s) is the referee.

The Munster Final is listed for Monday, April 24.