O’Neill comes into Limerick attack for Clare game

Cathal O'Neill who comes into the Limerick team for Saturday night's game.

CATHAL O’Neill has been included in the Limerick team for tomorrow night’s Munster Senior Hurling Championship outing with Clare at the TUS Gaelic Grounds, throw-in 7pm.

The 21-year-old from Crecora/Manister has been handed the number ten jersey, with Gearóid Hegarty named amongst the replacements.

O’Neill was introduced as a 50th minute substitute in Sunday’s opening round win against Waterford at Semple Stadium, Thurles. This is his third year of involvement with John Kiely’s senior squad. 

Despite picking-up an injury at the weekend, captain Declan Hannon has been chosen at centre-back. 

GAAGO will provide a live stream (€12) on Saturday, while radio commentary is available on Live 95. 

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Limerick: Nickie Quaid; Seán Finn, Dan Morrissey, Barry Nash; Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon (captain), Kyle Hayes; Darragh O’Donovan, William O’Donoghue; Cathal O’Neill, Cian Lynch, Tom Morrissey; Aaron Gillane, Séamus Flanagan, Peter Casey.

Substitutes: Jamie Power, Conor Boylan, Mike Casey, Ronan Connolly, Colin Coughlan, Richie English, Gearóid Hegarty, Graeme Mulcahy, Barry Murphy, Donnacha Ó Dálaigh, David Reidy.

Manager Diarmuid Mullins has also revealed his starting selection for tonight’s crucial Munster Under-20 Hurling Championship fixture against Cork at the same venue.

Into the side come Ballybrown’s Mikey Gavin, Oisin O’Farrell (Askeaton) and Con Hayes, Newcastle West. 

Limerick: Josh O’Reilly; Ronan Lyons, Joe Fitzgerald, Evan O’Leary; David Fitzgerald, Ethan Hurley (captain), Cian Scully; Barry Duff, Mikey Gavin; Adam Fitzgerald, Patrick O’Donovan, Shane O’Brien; Oisín, O’Farrell, Adam English, Con Hayes.

Subs: Killian Quaid, Fintan Fitzgerald, Seán Whelan, John Kirby, Seán O’Neill, John Fitzgerald, Darragh Langan, Liam Dennehy, William Dore.

In the Munster Minor Football Championship, Limerick posted a clear-cut (1-8 to 0-5) win over Waterford at Mick Neville Park, Rathkeale last night. Evan Curry of Athea hit an eye-catching 1-3 for Limerick. 

Limerick next meet Tipperary in the Phase One Final, and either way both teams will progress to the semi-finals where Kerry and Cork await. 

Limerick’s only outright Munster Minor Football Championship win was achieved way back in 1956