Na Piarsaigh reign supreme in Limerick

Victorious Na Piarsaigh captain Mike Casey celebrates at the TUS Gaelic Grounds in Limerick. Photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach

NA PIARSAIGH are back-to-back Limerick Senior Hurling Championship winners courtesy of a deserved 1-20 to 0-19 final victory over Patrickswell at the Gaelic Grounds. 

In a reversal of the opening round tie between the sides, Shane O’Neill’s outfit looked comfortable throughout en route to collecting the John Daly Cup for the eighth occasion since the club’s breakthrough only back in 2011.

Peter Casey weaved his way through to slam home a cracking goal near the close of the opening half to have Na Piarsaigh 1-8 to 0-7 ahead at the interval. 

In a finely balanced second half, the teams traded a dozen points apiece. 

Ronan Lynch (0-8) top-scored for the winners, while a tightly-marked Aaron Gillane struck seven points for the runners-up.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Mike Casey captained Na Piarsaigh to success.

The Limerick kingpins will encounter holders Ballygunner (Waterford) or Sarsfields (Cork) in the Munster Championship semi-final on November 19.

In a brilliant Premier Intermediate Hurling Championship final, Dromin/Athlacca squeezed past Blackrock 2-20 to 3-16 in the curtain-raiser.

As extra time appeared inevitable, full-forward David Breen struck the winning point at the death.