GAA president and Pulitzer Prize winner honoured at UL Alumni Awards

Pictured L-R double Pulitzer Prize winning New York Times investigative journalist Malachy Browne, Ms Cathy Smith – BA Law and European Studies 1995 and Mr Dermot Scanlon – BSc Industrial Chemistry 1985 Outstanding Contribution/ Entrepreneurship. Photo: Arthur Ellis.

GAA president Larry McCarthy and Pulitzer Prize winning journalist Malachy Browne are among the latest people to be honoured by the University of Limerick.

The 16th annual UL Alumni Awards Ceremony saw past University of Limerick graduated honoured for their individual achievements in their fields since graduation.

The awards ceremony was held in tandem with the UL Sports Hall of Fame and saw people from the worlds of sport, news, and law honoured.

Dr McCarthy, the current GAA president, rugby star Lynne Cantwell, and former UL Sport  and Recreation Director Dave Mahedy were inducted into the UL Sports Hall of Fame, bringing the total number of inductees to 34.

Meanwhile, New York Times investigative journalist Malachy Browne, Serosep founder Dermot Scanlan and barrister Cathy Smith received UL Alumni Awards – joining a prestigious group of just 50 alumni who have been previously honoured in this way.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

UL President Professor Kerstin Mey, who attended the event along with Mayor of Limerick City and County Cllr Gerald Mitchell and others, praised some of UL’s “most accomplished, innovative, inspiring, creative, and influential alumni”.

By bringing these two prestigious events together, we are delighted to be able to recognise the exceptional achievements and contributions of our alumni and wider campus community and showcase the breadth and depth of talent that University of Limerick produces,” Professor Mey said.

“Our distinguished awardees, in their respective fields, exemplify the core values and excellence that University of Limerick instils in all our students. They are the embodiment of dedication, innovation, and a relentless pursuit of excellence. Their achievements stand as a testament to the calibre and quality of education and values cultivated within our University’s halls,” Professor Mey concluded.

The inaugural UL Alumni Awards ceremony was first hosted in 2006 and previous recipients include Tony Ward, Jean Butler, Professor Brigid Laffan and Dr Hugh O’Donnell.

The Awards recognise graduates who have made a significant impact in various fields, including in business, entrepreneurship, science and technology, academia, societal and humanitarian areas, sport, culture and the arts.