Limerick aim to spring surprise in Munster SFC

Matty Taylor of Cork and Paul Maher of Limerick at the launch of the Munster GAA Senior Hurling and Football Championship in Cahir Castle. Photo: Harry Murphy.

LIMERICK and Cork will open the 2024 Munster Senior Football Championship when the counties meet in the opening round at Supervalu Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Sunday (2pm).

With a couple of divisions between the opponents in the National League, it’s not surprising that the home side have been installed as unbackable 1/50 shots to secure a semi-final tilt against holders Kerry.

Jimmy Lee’s Limerick come into the tie on the back of a series of losses in the League, but will be heartened by continuous improvement in the latter few fixtures, including the narrow loss away to Offaly a fortnight ago.

Seán O’Dea (Kilteely-Dromkeen), Barry Coleman (Rathkeale), Paul Maher (Adare), Iain Corbett (Newcastle West), Cillian Fahy (Dromcollogher-Broadford), Cathal Downes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), James Naughton (St Senan’s), and Danny Neville (Ballysteen) will lead the Limerick challenge.

There is an injury concern around captain Iain Corbett, who was an enforced half-time replacement in O’Connor Park, Tullamore.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Cork are particularly strong in attack with the likes of Chris Óg Jones, Seán Powter, and captain Brian Hurley of Munster club winners Castlehaven.

Commented Powter ahead of the visit from Limerick: “We are going with confidence into the championship, but last year we got caught by Clare in Ennis, so we are going to be very cautious this time around.”

Limerick were only once ever Munster Champions, way back in 1896.

Meanwhile, there’s a strong prospect of some early GAA national silverware for Limerick in Sunday’s Division Four National Football League Final against Carlow at St Brendan’s Park, Birr, 2pm.

Limerick are under the joint management of former county senior goalkeeper Seán Kiely of Hospital-Herbertstown and Newcastle West’s Mike Quilligan.

The captaincy role is shared between Old Mill’s Róisín Ambrose and Yvonne Lee of three-in-a-row county champions Monagea.

Declan Carolan (Armagh) will referee.