Provincial win for Limerick U-20 Footballers

Stock Photo.

LIMERICK overcame a four-point interval deficit to easily account for Waterford in the Munster Under-20 B Football Final in Mallow.

After a sub-par opening 35 minutes, the eventual winners turned-on the style in the closing-half to ease to an impressive 2-10 to 1-5 victory.

Captain Aaron Neville of Newcastle West magnificently grabbed a brace of goals, while Ronan Quirke (Fr. Casey’s) and Darragh Murray both picked-off some delightful points, while Conall Ó Dúinn, Monaleen, supplied the best score of the night.

The prize was the John Keirns Memorial Cup, named in honour of a famed Cork goalkeeper.

Shane Kelly managed Limerick.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Earlier in the Munster Minor Football Championship, Limerick’s interest ended with a 3-6 to 0-9 loss against Clare at Carroll Park, Ballyagran.

Monaleen’s Shane Dolan and Cian Costello (Cappagh/Rathkeale) kicked three points apiece for Limerick.

Limerick are away in Cork on Thursday in the Munster Minor Hurling Championship opener, and our Under-20s host Tipperary in Rathkeale on Friday.