Minor hurlers lose out to Clare

Stock photo.

LIMERICK slipped to a disappointing 0-15 to 0-9 loss against Clare at O’Garney Park, Sixmilebridge.

As a result, the side is now pointless after two rounds and with only the leading two teams to contest the Munster Final are unlikely to make the business end of a championship it won most recently back-to-back in 2019/2020.

Clare, winners of both the provincial and All-Ireland Championships at this grade last year, were easily the better side on show.

Limerick failed to scored from play in this outing, with all scores from frees through Diarmuid Hurley (0-6) and Jack Cosgrave (0-3). In sharp contrast, the hosts managed nine points from play.

Limerick: Cathal Dennehy (Glenroe); Denis Blackwell (Ahane), Dáithí Dennehy (Glenroe), Conor Ryan (Adare); Paul Murphy (Castletown/Ballyagran), Eoin Brosnan (Na Piarsaigh), Gearóid  Enright (Kilmallock);  Diarmuid Hurley (Hospital/Herberstown) joint captain, Jack Cosgrave (Ahane), joint captain; Patrick Cagney (Feohanagh), Eoghan Maher (Monaleen), Tommie Cusack (Murroe/Boher); Danny Sheehan (Na Piarsaigh), Malachy McKenna (Pallasgreen), Jack Fitzgerald (Bruff).

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Substitutes: Patrick Kearney (Adare), Gavin Dorgan (Monagea), Liam O’Connor (Templeglantine) , Conor Ryan (Ahane), John O’Connor (Ahane).