Fine Gael in the lead as Greens win first seat in Limerick

A calm and grateful Seán Hartigan was re-elected on the final count in City East. Photo: Brendan Gleeson.

SEÁN Hartigan’s father, John, at 77 years of age, was smiling and calm as his son was declared elected on the final count in Limerick City East.

“I have to thank all of my family and supporters, especially my dad, who was out canvassing with me every night,” the delighted Green candidate said.

“It was a long count, depending on a lot of transfers, but it all came through in the end,” he said, as he was surrounded by well-wishers and congratulated by Brian Leddin TD, who will face his own count at the mayoral race takes up again tomorrow morning (Monday).

Ursula Gavin (SF) was “in shock” as she became her party’s third councillor to win a seat.

“I was at the match and pulling down posters before I cam back here tonight,” she told reporters. Decked out in her Limerick shirt and comfy track pants she said “it’s not often you get Munster victory and a local election win on the same day. I’m stunned.”

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter
The Limerick Sinn Féin contingent celebrate the election of newcomer Ursula Gavan. Photo: Brendan Gleeson.

With the close of business declared in City East, the final line is:

  • Catherine Slattery (Fianna Fáil)
  • Peter Doyle (Fine Gael)
  • Joe Pond (Fianna Fáil)
  • Elena Secas (Labour)
  • Sarah Kiely (Fine Gael)
  • Seán Hartigan (Green Party)
  • Ursula Gavan (Sinn Féin)

After a recount in Limerick City West, shortly after 11pm, the returning officer announced that he was satisfied there was no error in the original count and the election of Daniel Butler, Dan McSweeney, and Joe Leddin stands.

Michael MacCurtin, had called for the recount, was eliminated.

The continuing count in City West means that Fine Gael will be the largest party in the new council.