Limerick lose out to Tipperary in Camogie


Limerick v Kildare 4It was straight back into championship action after last weeks celebrations for Limerick’s Division Two League Champions. A tough task awaited them in Martinstown on Sunday evening as they entertained Tipperary in the Munster Championship Semi-Final. Though the teams will play in different grades in the All-Ireland Championship the Shannonsiders played the whole game with intensity and passion and showed that they deserve to be up there in Division One next season.

Played in slightly breezy conditions with rain threatening Limerick were first on scoresheet when an infringement on half forward Katie Campbell resulted in a free which Niamh Mulcahy put over the bar. A second pointed free was acquired by Limerick before Tipperary replied with a goal in the 6th minute. Tipperary got two points from play before Limerick received a penalty (corner forward Deborah Murphy was held and brought down in the square) which Niamh Mulcahy popped over the bar. (15 Mins Limerick 0-3 Tipperary 1-2).

Tipperary once again attacked and raised the green flag in the 18th minute before Caoimhe Costello ran through their defence and scored a point. Tipperary replied with another point from play but the final ten minutes of this half belonged to Limerick as they scored five points without reply from Mary O’Callaghan 0-2, Rebecca Delee 0-1 and Niamh Mulcahy 0-2.

Half time score Limerick 0-9 Tipp 2-3

Once again Limerick were the first out of the blocks in the second half with a pointed free from Niamh Mulchay. Katie Campbell and Niamh added on two more points, one from play and one from a 45’within the first ten minutes of the second half. The Limerick supporters on the side line rallied behind the girls shouting encouragement for their gallant efforts on the pitch.                                    Unfortunately for Limerick supporters Tipperary stepped up their game and hit a purple patch, scoring six points without reply over the next quarter hour, despite the best efforts of the courageous Limerick players. Caoimhe Costello got Limerick back in the game in the 25th min of this half, with a well struck low ball which easily could have gone under rather over the bar but she had to settle for the minor score.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Limerick 0-13 Tipperary 2-9

With the clock ticking down Limerick desperately tried to score but this resulted in fouling and two more frees for Tipperary which ended up over the bar leaving the final score at the full time whistle Limerick 0-13 Tipperary 2-11

This ended Limericks journey in the Munster Senior Championship for 2013 but this match has been great preparation for the All-Ireland Intermediate Championship which begins v Kilkenny on 22nd June.

Manager Joe Quaid complimented the team on their super work rate and commitment and commented that this shows Limerick are progressing the right way as the girls came very close to winning against a team who will playing Senior Championship this year.

Niamh Mulcahy 0-7 (0-5 frees), Caoimhe Costello 0-2, Mary O’Callaghan 0-2, Rebecca Delee 0-1, Katie Campbell 0-1

1 Sile Moynihan – Ahane
2 Janet Garvey – Tournafulla
3 Emma Quaid – Croagh Kilfinny
4 Fiona Hickey – Granagh Ballingarry
5 Judith Mulcahy – Ahane
6 Michelle Casey –  Kileedy Captain
7 Mairead Ryan – Galbally
8 Deirdre Fitzpatrick –  Kileedy
9 Sarah Carey – Granagh Ballingarry
10Caoimhe Costello – Adare
11 Niamh Mulcahy – Ahane
12 Katie Campbel – Na Piarsaigh
13 Marie Keating Kileedy
14 Mary O’Callaghan – Bruff
15 Dympna O’Brien – Killeedy
16 Claire Keating – Cappamore
17 Noreen Barry – Kileedy
18 Rebecca Delee – Newcastle West
19 Mairead Fitzgerald – Granagh Ballingarry
20 Sarah Crotty – Ahane
21 Brid Hannon – Croagh Kilfinny
22 Elaine Kennedy – Newcastle West
23 Aoife Wilson – Na Piarsaigh
24 Caitrin DeBhal – Feenagh Kilmeedy
25 Karen O’Leary – Newcastle West
26  Martina McMahon – Croagh Kilfinny
27 Meadhbh O’Neill – Galbally
28 Aishling McCartan – Newcastle West
29 Deborah Murphy – Knockaderry
30 Jane Wilson – Na Piarsaigh
31 Lorraine McCarthy – Bruff
32 Katie Hennessey – Ballyagran
33 Orla Cunningham – Kileedy
34 Lisa O’Keeffe – Adare