Barry O’Mahony to captain Munster ‘A’ in Limerick


Munster A v Connacht Eagles - 'A' InterprovincialGarryowen’s Barry O’Mahony will captain the Munster ‘A’ side in their crucial British and Irish Cup clash against Nottingham at St.Mary’s RFC tomorrow night (ko 7:30pm).

South African Gerhard van den Heever will make his first Munster ‘A’ appearance on the left wing as part of an experienced backline with Denis Hurley and Ivan Dineen in the centres, Andrew Conway on the right wing and the tournament’s second-highest try-scorer Ronan O’Mahony at full-back. Academy out-half Johnny Holland maintains his place with fellow Cork Con clubman Gerry Hurley at scrum-half.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Head Coach Peter Malone has gone with Alan Cotter, Young Munster’s Ger Slattery and John Ryan in the front row. Club player Slattery recently made his RaboDirect PRO12 bow as a substitute against Connacht after Munster’s recent injury issues at hooker.

The experienced Ian Nagle is joined in the second row by academy player Darren O’Shea who starts his first Munster A game since the season-opener against Connacht Eagles. Dave O’Callaghan, who has started every B&I Cup game this season, captain Barry O’Mahony and Paddy Butler are named in the back row with Butler appearing in his first Munster A side this season.

Head coach Peter Malone has named a strong replacements bench with Cian Bohane, academy players Shane Buckley, Jack O’Donoghue, Brian Haugh and Rory Scannell, Cork Con’s Max Abbott and Dolphin’s Brian Scott all capable of making an impact.

When the sides met earlier in the season, Johnny Holland was the late match-winner for Munster A as he converted Rory Scannell’s last-minute try to beat Nottingham 17-16 at Meadow Lane.

Munster A lie second in Pool 4 and trail leaders Plymouth Albion on points difference with both sides on three wins apiece.

Nottingham are third in the group and still in contention to progress after back-to-back wins against Stirling County.

They lie third-bottom of the English Championship and lost their last game by a point to the Championship’s basement side Ealing Trailfinders.

Plymouth are also in action tomorrow night as they host bottom-placed Stirling County at 7:45pm.

The format of the B&I Cup is the same as the Heineken Cup with the six pool winners and best two runners-up qualifying for the quarter finals.

Munster A: Ronan O’Mahony; Andrew Conway, Ivan Dineen, Denis Hurley, Gerhard van den Heever; Johnny Holland, Gerry Hurley; Alan Cotter, Ger Slattery, John Ryan; Ian Nagle, Darren O’Shea; Dave O’Callaghan, Barry O’Mahony (Capt), Paddy Butler. Replacements: Max Abbott, Brian Scott, Shane Buckley, Jack O’Donoghue, Brian Haugh, Rory Scannell, Cian Bohane.

Munster A v Nottingham kicks off at 7:30pm at St. Mary’s RFC tomorrow night.

Gates open at 6pm and Ticketmaster will be selling tickets from 4pm at St. Mary’s RFC.


MRSC Members Free of Charge (On production of membership card)

10 Year Ticket holders – Free of Charge (On production of 10 Year  ticket)

Munster Rugby Season Ticket Holders – €5 (On production of season ticket)


€10 Adult, €3 Junior, €20 Family Pack (2 Adults & 2 Juniors)

Junior – 16 or under


St. Mary’s RFC is located at Grove Island on Corbally Road just outside Limerick City.


There is no parking available at the ground

Grove Island Car Park will remain open until 10pm, first 2 hours free parking. Located across the road from the club.